imovie problems

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Gonkboy, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Gonkboy macrumors newbie

I have an avi file I want of my band playing live. I want to split it up into separate songs. I tried importing it to imovie and it didn't work. I then converted the file to MP4 and it still wouldn't import. I'm a total noob and don't know what i'm doing wrong.
    Please help.

2. simsaladimbamba

3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45

4. Gonkboy thread starter macrumors newbie

Looks like I have to uninstall the convertor I used earlier and download another convertor. What a waste of time.

5. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

Dave Braine

That will take you about 5 minutes. If that's too long, then don't bother, just live with the problem.

6. carlgo macrumors 68000

I've noticed that some people get very testy whenever the subject of converters and iMovie comes up. They get mad when people get mad about the need to deal with all this in what should be an up to date program.

7. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

Dave Braine

I've successfully imported avi files into iMovie.

An avi file is a container for video and audio files. These files can be created using any number of codecs. If the codec used is not one that is recognised by your computer, then it won't be read, despite the fact that it can read other avi files.

simsaladimbamba gave the solution, but it looks like that is too much trouble for the OP.

8. simsaladimbamba

Do you remember what codecs did work with .avi files and iMovie?

9. Gonkboy thread starter macrumors newbie