Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Natboy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 6, 2012
Hi,

I'll start off by saying I am a huge mac newbie so please be gentle lol.

I want to know if my macbook pro runs out of space while imovie is recording will it finalise itself or will it wait until I finalise it myself?
It will be connected to power.

Also, what if the macbook isn't connected to power & imovie is recording will it finalise before the mac shuts down?

Thanks a lot :)

Dave Braine

macrumors 68040
Mar 19, 2008
Warrington, UK
By "recording" do you mean importing, exporting or sharing video? Either way, if you run out of hard drive space then things will come to a stop.

Secondly, you don't have to finalize a Project. All that does is create a copy of your Project at every resolution possible, and make them available to other Apps via the Media Browser. If you don't need that, then just Share or Export your Project.

Natboy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 6, 2012
By recording I mean, "open camera import window" & then "click capture to begin recording video into iMovie"

So what happens when it is recording & runs out of space?
Also how do I cut the bits of the video I want out & then save them to a folder on my mac?
Thank you :)

Dave Braine

macrumors 68040
Mar 19, 2008
Warrington, UK
So what happens when it is recording & runs out of space?
Things will come to a stop. It can't import if there's nowhere to store it. How much free space do you have on your hard drive? A minimum of 10% of it's capacity is recommended for the smooth running of your Mac. It's also recommended to use an external drive for video editing to prevent unnecessary wear and tear on the internal drive.

Also how do I cut the bits of the video I want out & then save them to a folder on my mac?