iMovie Reducing Video Quality on Import

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by EggWhite, Jan 15, 2010.

1. EggWhite macrumors member

I am new to iMovie and started playing around with it recently. It's a great program and easy to use, but I found the quality of the output far less then when I took the same file on my windows PC and re-encoded it to mp4 manually. So I decided to look into it.

I have a JVC Everio GZ-MG37U, and the files on the drive are
    MOD files
    mpgv
    720x480

iMovie imports them as
    MOV File
    m2v1
    720x480

If watch them side by side the MOD looks much better, so iMovie is really lowering the quality on import. How can I fix this?

2. huntercr macrumors 65816

convert the MOD file to the AIC codec first with MPEGStreamclip. That's iMovie's native format, so it won't complain. Be sure to record in "ultra" quality mode on the camera too.That should give you better results.

3. EggWhite thread starter macrumors member

Is there anyway to have iMovie do the re-encode itself at a higher quality? If I process it outside of iMovie first I will lose all the date stamps and have to look at each file name one by one since iMovie won't be able to create events based on dates.

4. huntercr macrumors 65816

Well, try it once first and see if the quality difference is worth it.

I actually don't know the reason your files are coming out so bad. I was only guessing that iMovie wasn't importing them properly. See if MPEGstreamclip will import it better.

5. EggWhite thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for all the help. I have redone the files in MPEGStreamClip and when I viewed them side by side in VLC and they both looked great, but then when I viewed the DV file in QuickTimeX it still looked bad. So I guess it has something to do with QuickTimeX and not just the encode.

I will have to try exporting and seeing if it still looks bad.

6. KeithPratt macrumors 6502a