iMovieHD won't recognize PV-GS320

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Nervous.Apathy, Jul 21, 2007.

1. Nervous.Apathy macrumors newbie

I own a Macbook Pro and after reading reviews on several sites decided to purchase a PVGS-320 camcorder. I've got the tape in, recorded stuff, seen it play back on the camcorder itself. The problem is now that I have it no matter what I do my computer doesn't recognize it. iMovie just sits there after I've plugged the USB cable in. I've changed the mode on the dial from tape recording to tae playback to ard recording to card playback to PC connection mode. Nothing works. I have no clue what I'm doing wrong as I thought it would just start up. A CDROM came with it but its exclusively for Windows I believe.

Awhile back someone named 'casebag' posted almost the exact same question. A bunch of people looked at it but no one answered. I'm hoping someone out there can help the both of us. I'm very new to Mac so I realize this may be something pretty simple but I've been left scratching my head. Do I need a cable that didn't come in the box? It came with a AC adaptor, DC cable AC cable and a USB cable (I'm reading this out of the instruction manual). Anyways if anyone needs any more info I can provide it. Thanks for reading and for any help.

2. theBB macrumors 68020

theBB

I believe iMovie needs Firewire connection to the camcorder. If you only have USB interface, you may have to copy the video files somehow onto our computer and just drag and drop it onto iMovie.

3. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

Flynnstone

I don't know if this helps ...
    I have a Sony MiniDV camcorder.
    To get the video off the tape, I need to use Firewire.
    To get the lower quality video and pictures off the card, I use iPhoto.

4. Osprey macrumors 6502