import chapter markers in HB?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Keebler, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi folks,

    So I edited a home movie in FCP with chapter markers, but HB doesn't import them.

    I found this link on the HB forums, but I have to be honest, I didn't quite understand it.

    http://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9171&p=49479&hilit=chapters#p49479

    It sounds like i need another piece of software to extract the markers from my QT file and import them into the HB file?

    Can anyone explain this to me easily? Maybe i'm just tired from being a nurse to my family who is all sick, but I didn't get it :)

    Cheers,
    keebler
     
  2. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    just to clarify, I can export an appletv format out of Quicktime, but the chapters don't appear.

    I can output directly from FCP using compressor, but the quality options are very limited (ie. a maximum of 1500 kbps). Chapters DO work in this format however.
     
  3. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #3
    The next version of HB supports importing of chapters (plus other metadata) from MP4 like input files. I haven't tested with QT .mov's but it should work for those as well.
     
  4. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    thanks Eddy! is this a beta version you're testing?
    I think I have the latest build 9.3 etc..

    thanks,
    keebler
     
  5. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #5
    No Beta available as yet - I was the one who added the support (mainly so that I could retain the chapters, artwork etc when converting my HQ AppleTV encodes for playing on the iPod, should I be going on a trip).

    I don't see why QT .movs won't also work, I don't actually have any with chapters to check though.

    Cheers, Ed.
     
  6. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    You're a good man EddyG! :)

    Can't wait to give that build a run :)
     
  7. plaidhippo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    #7
    change extension from mp4 to m4v

    I'm not sure I completely understand your problem, but I had an issue with handbrake and the mp4 files it was creating recently as well. It would create chapter markers which were visible in itunes but not quicktime player or the apple tv. I was advised to try an m4v version of the file, so I simply changed the extension of my existing file from .mp4 (created by HB) to .m4v, and the chapter marks showed up in both quicktime and the apple tv immediately! Again, I'm not sure that is exactly what you need, but try it out and it may just save you some time! Hope it helps!

    Good luck,
    Ashish
     
  8. eddyg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    #8
    Hi Ashish,

    The OP was referring to using QT files as *input* to HandBrake and retaining those chapter markers from the input file on the output file.

    Cheers, Ed.
     

Share This Page