Importing .doc to indesign

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by djsound, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. djsound macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #1
    I'm working on a annual project that I have done for 3 years. There is always a text document that the company sends to me in *.doc format that needs to be input using Indesign. It was made in MS Word and has tabs in it. When I import the file to Indesign (CS4) the tabs get messed up. This is about 40 pages and will take me about a week to re-tab. I'm wondering if there is a magic converter out there that I do not know about. They used to pay someone to do it but they cut back and no longer have that employee...I really do not have a week or patience to try it hehe....thanks in advance if anyone knows of anything.
     
  2. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #2
    Maybe open it in office and export it as a tab delimited file.
    Then use the data merge function in InDesign to create the pages.
    I recently used similar technique to create 200 membership cards in InDesign from an excel file.
     
  3. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #3
    I think I was wrong...I was trying to figure out what was wrong with these tabs but apparently there are no tabs. There are about 4 columns. Probably at one time there were tabs and I think someone must have copy/pasted this from some other program and in the process lost the tabs. It all 'looks' tabbed but there are no tabs....I need to move all the columns so I think I am out of luck hehe...... thanks for the attempt though =)
     
  4. Buzz Bumble Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Probably some novice that used spaces to "align" the columns. :rolleyes:

    What you can do, in either Word or InDesign, is use the Find-Replace function to replace:
    • double spaces with an "*",
    • then replace double "*" with a single "*", repeat this step as many times as necessary to remove all but one "*" between each column's text,
    • then replace the "*" with a Tab character
    Then you can set-up the columns properly in InDesign using custom tab stops.
     
  5. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #5
    wow......Buzz, that's a great idea..I am going to try that tomorrow and report back...GREAT idea !! :D
     
  6. snickelfritz macrumors 65816

    snickelfritz

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    #6
    Edit > Find/Change... (Command-F)
    In the resulting dialog, in the Query: pulldown menu, choose: "Multiple Space to Single Space".
    Click Change All.
    Click Done.
     
  7. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #7
    Attached is a picture..

    I think I follow you guys but there is a problem. I can't convert all the multiple spaces to a single space then set tabs because there are single spaces that I want to leave unchanged....in the picture the red circle area is what I need to change. It needs to all be moved over to the left. This is a 50 or 60 page document.. =) ...or am I wrong? If I change every multiple space to a single space, to apply certain ones to tabs I would manually have to do that to each line after. Or am I missing something?



    ..actually its 150 pages.. =/

    edit - I replaced "5 spaces" with a "*" but that doesnt work because there are other places with "5 spaces"....know what I mean?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Buzz Bumble Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    Yep, that's why I always use an intermediary symbol. Above I said to use the "*", but of course if that is used elsewhere within the text you can use anything else that is unique instead. Often if I don't know every symbol within the text, so I use a longer combination as the replacement, e.g. "*+*" or "*-*+*-*" or "{tabhere}" - anything which is highly unlikely to be used elsewhere.

    Above I also said they were spaces (and in your picture they do looke like sapces) since that is the usual novice approach to columns, but in some cases a novice user will use tabs, but not custom tab stops, which often results in multiple tabs between neighbouring columns on some lines. The above process will still work by replacing the double-tabs with the unique symbol.


    There shouldn't really be any need to have even double-spaces, let alone five spaces, but you could copy the parts that do need changing to a new document and make the Find-Replace changes there.

    Another way is that in Word and InDesign, the Find-Replace can work on only the selected section of text - so ON A BACKUP OF THE FILE you can select a section of text, perform the Find-Replace, select another section, perform the Find-Replace, etc. It's tiresome, but works.

    In Word (except the current version, I think) you could set up a macro to perform the multiple Find-Replace steps so all you have to do is run it each time. In Word or InDesign you might be able to use AppleScript / Automator to make it the process a bit quicker. Either way you'll still have to manually select each section and then run the macro / script.

    If it is an on-going task, then a better option might be to teach the person sending the file how to do tabs properly. :)
     
  9. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #9
    hehe Ya I wish I could get them to do it the proper way. Easier said then done!...anyways I have tried a few times and I still can not get it to work. I understand your principal but I dont think it will work...You wanna give it a try? =)
     
  10. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #10
    What about just saving the Word doc as a PDF and then placing said PDF in your ID file? It's neither perfect nor ideal, but it might save you a lot of time if all the formatting you need to do can be done quickly in Word.
     
  11. djsound thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djsound

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    #11
    I am wanting to change (apply) formatting before placing it in ID =)
     

Share This Page