Importing from a Sony Handycam DCR-HC47E ?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Sceneshifter, Dec 24, 2007.

  1. Sceneshifter macrumors 6502

    Sceneshifter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys,

    We bought my dad a Handycam to film stuff while he travels etc... (his hobby when he was 'young' ;-))

    My brother went to get the one mentioned in the title. Now it seems alright and everything, except, I can't seem to import the video to my mac using the USB thingie? It does work with the pictures, but the videos don't seem to work (they're recorded on a little tape like that). Now they have this 'streaming usb' function, but great, that's not supported by Mac it says on Sony's website...

    Any easy way to get those videos onto my harddrive and into iMovie etc.. ?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #2
    Like most miniDV cams, the video from that camera is captured to iMovie using "iLink", which is basically IEEE1394 (Firewire). You should be able to plug the camera into your Mac with a 6-pin / 4-pin firewire cable, start up iMovie, select "capture" and you can import your video for editing.
     
  3. Sceneshifter thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sceneshifter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
  4. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #4
    Not according to the Sony UK website...
     
  5. Sceneshifter thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sceneshifter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #5
    Aha, that's good news. I suppose this is a cable I'll have to go and buy then? Since it for sure is not included in the package as far as I can see...

    Any exact specifications for what exact cable I would need?

    Thank you!
     
  6. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #6
    You need a 6-pin to 4-pin IEEE 1394 cable (firewire cable).

    [​IMG]

    If this is a UK camera, there may be some issues. I can't remember all the details, but there's something about laws in the UK regarding camcorders and their ability to act as a VCR. That may have some implications as to why the iLink connector on the HC47E is listed as DV Out on the dock, whereas the HC48E is just DV, because it transfers data in and out - European vs USA
     
  7. Sceneshifter thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sceneshifter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #7
    I'm in Belgium here, so I suppose there's no worries. Thank you very much for the info, you saved us from a lot of frustration (at least my dad :))

    and a Merry Christmas to you!
     
  8. Sceneshifter thread starter macrumors 6502

    Sceneshifter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #8
    Just to confirm: It's working perfectly!

    Thank you very much for the info!
     
  9. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #9
    Good news.
     
  10. needhelpwithmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #10
    same problem, different solution?

    Hi guys,
    I just got a mac and I'm experiencing the same above problem. After reading these quotes I hurried to the store to buy this cable you described. It looks exactly the same as on the picture. Unfortunately it just doesn't seem to fit onto my camcorder. Sceneshifter where did you connect the cable onto the camcorder? I'm not too clever yet with this stuff so maybe I'm just being silly (sorry then) but I'm not getting anywhere.
     
  11. needhelpwithmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #11
    same problem, different solution?

    Hi guys,
    I just got a mac and I'm experiencing the same above problem. After reading these quotes I hurried to the store to buy this cable you described. It looks exactly the same as on the picture. Unfortunately it just doesn't seem to fit onto my camcorder. Sceneshifter where did you connect the cable onto the camcorder? I'm not too clever yet with this stuff so maybe I'm just being silly (sorry then) but I'm not getting anywhere.
     
  12. romscot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    #12
    doesn't work?

    hello guys, i have the same problem:
    how do i transfer my video from the handycam to my Mac....I can transfer picture but not the video.
    Could you take me step by step that will be great.

    Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page