Importing To External Storage

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by indiedave, Mar 1, 2008.

1. indiedave macrumors newbie

I'm wondering if anyone can help me. I'm new to mac's, slowly becoming addicted. Anyway I'm importing film from a Mini DV via Firewire, and using iMovie '08 to edit. However when I import video, which I've been able to do no problems, I want to import the video to my external hard-drive, rather than MacHD. There is a drop down menu from "Save To" where I was hoping to see my external but its not there.

The external is recognised on my desktop, so I'm a little bit confused. There doesn't appear to be an option in the Preferences section. Is what I'm doing possible, to import direct to the external, to will I have to import onto the MacHD and then move to the external.

Any help is much appreciated.

2. cgingrich macrumors regular

cgingrich

My guess would be that you would have to import to your internal HD then move to external. I'm actually going to be investigating this a little more as I just got an AVCHD camcorder and the imported files are huge, I'll let you know what I find out.

edit: Also if your external is not showing up on your desktop, that IS a problem...try reconnecting it, you may have accidentally ejected it.

3. indiedave thread starter macrumors newbie

The external is being recognised. The bad thing is I've only got 12GB available so I'd prefer to have all my video imported to the external. What I'll probably end up doing is move all the music to my external, but I use that a lot, more so than the video.

Let me know what you find out, appreciate it.

4. cgingrich macrumors regular

cgingrich

As far as the music goes....I have my entire iTunes library running off of my external WD MyBook via Firewire 800. I rarely ever have slowdowns when playing music and I share my music over my network as well, so that is an option that will free some space off of your internal either way.

5. liquidoz macrumors newbie