impossible future intel processor claims!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by robbie12345, Nov 5, 2011.

1. robbie12345 macrumors 6502

hi, just to let you know i am not a scientist or any type of micro physicist. but i do no a thing or to about quantum mechanics. first i was looking at the future of intel processors roadmap and it said that in 2018 they were going to have the processor skymont which will be based on a 10nm transistor! I'm just curios

A) i no that with quantum mechanics is that an atom is about 10nm wide, anything smaller then that is considered smaller then an atom (obviously) but if it is smaller then an atom quantum mechanics take over and its unstable and starts randomly teleporting all over the place. so my question is if a transistor (which it is) more then one atom, as in it is mo0re then one part which an atom is maximumly one part then won't it be impossible

B) if they were to actually pull it off what kind of power consumption would it mean for things like laptops (doubt they will have them anymore by then:roll eyes: ) and smartphones and tablets

and
    C) as for the processor itself what do you think it will be composed of ( how many cores, cache, fsb, clock speed, etc.)

Thanks for ur opinions this is my first forum so I'm just trying to understand this better thank you

2. sammich macrumors 601

sammich

3. Spike88 macrumors 6502a

You know....

"when I was a small kid".... my buddy had Commodore 64 (re: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_64 ) and it was amazing. It was the hottest selling computer of its day. And, it sparked my career into Computer Science direction. That system was magic.

Today, that 64K (yes, "K") with NO hard disk, no CD/DVD, no USB, no wireless and no SSD "computer system" is now rated a door stop. Actually, probably less than a door stop. Yet during its day, it was the most amazing computer system on earth.