impoving Genius lists

Discussion in 'iPod' started by irishgrizzly, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. irishgrizzly macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #1
    How can I improve Genius playlists? I'm sure a good chunk of my music is not interacting with this feature. Due to poor naming of tracks. Can anyone give tips on how to be clean up tracks so that they're renamed are correctly. Maybe someone with similar experiences can share how they did it.
     
  2. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #2
    there's an app tha ids music based on actual sound and an online database... name escapes me... hang on... her it is: http://musicbrainz.org/

    Adding better metadata should help.
     
  3. irishgrizzly thread starter macrumors 65816

    irishgrizzly

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #3
    Thanks. So the Metadata is things like genre, year etc?
     
  4. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #4
    Great link! Thanks!
     
  5. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #5
    Track, album, artist, genre, etc. I assume that's what Apple is using as the base of their system (probably mixed with some magic voodoo of iTMS sales data, star rating, play count, etc etc).
     
  6. mdhwoods macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
  7. zebbz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #7
    yeh it doesnt like it when you have extra things in the song title

    i usually label each song with the producer and featured as well
    songs without have a higher success rate

    so for example

    Cookie Jar ft. The-Dream (Produced by Cool and Dre)
    would be better as just 'cookie jar'

    however
    it was working for some songs earlier for me
    now it isnt working for any
    *shrugs shoulders*
     
  8. Zerstörer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #8
    All my music is pretty much flawlessly tagged, and still, I have yet to have a song work with Genius.
     
  9. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #9
    That seems VERY odd...
     
  10. Ntombi macrumors 68040

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #10
    I know for sure that it doesn't do well with: classical as a genre, musicals, and The Beatles. I haven't had one classical or musical song matched yet, and it doesn't have the Beatles metadata either.
     
  11. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #11
    I suspect that a large part of how Genius works uses iTMS sales data. It looks at a track, matches it with an iTunes song and then looks at what people who bought that also bought, as well as matching it into a genre to further "drill down" the selection. No Beatles in the store = no Beatles data. Yet.

    They did mention that it will learn as people use it, so maybe that data set will grow as time goes on. I've had GREAT success with the Genius so far, and my musical tastes range from popular (but older) music to really quite obscure. Just updated my iPod to 2.1 and I'm looking forward to trying it out on a mobile device. Great for hands free driving situations.
     
  12. Ntombi macrumors 68040

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #12
    Yes, that's true for The Beatles and I knew that going in, but musicals and Classical? :( And that includes the albums and songs I bought through iTunes.
     

Share This Page