Improve performance

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aberonni, Jul 11, 2012.

1. aberonni, Jul 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012

aberonni macrumors newbie

Hi all,

First of all I'm a newbie in this forum so don't be too mean! :D

I've had a search around the forum to see if I could find the info I'm looking for but I 'd prefer some specific guidance for my situation.

Basically I have a mid 2009 15" macbook pro running Lion. I've attached an image that show my stats, basically I haven't touched the hardware at all since I bought it.

Now the performance is starting to get a little bit worse than when I bought it (obviously) and I'm wondering what's best for me to replace in terms of price/improvement.

The main issues I'm encountering are a pretty slow start up, and the laptop getting quite hot after not much time. I was thinking of updating the RAM from 4GB to 8GB but I'm wondering if there is something else worth doing first.

Also for the RAM, do you suggest buying Apple RAM or are there valid alternatives.

Thanks for your help, and pardon my english as I'm not native.

Thanks!
    Domenico

[​IMG]

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Apple doesn't make RAM. RAM from companies like Crucial, GSkill, etc are perfectly fine... RAM is all pretty much the same.

3. Aftershocker macrumors member

Adding in an SSD as a boot drive will make the most noticeable difference in performance.

4. aberonni thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the quick reply! Do you think that it will make a big difference in terms of performance? Also, would you suggest any other improvements?

5. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

yusukeaoki

There is no such thing as "Apple RAM" so forget about it.
    Basically get a 204pin SODIMM 8GB RAM off amazon for about 40bucks.
    (1066MHz, 1333MHz, 1666MHz)
    I suggest Corsair
    http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-DDR3-...F8ZG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1317278081&sr=8-1

And add an SSD.
    SSD are way faster than a HDD.