Improving my memory and other things

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Docslasher, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Docslasher macrumors newbie

Hi there, am new to forum thingy but not new to macs, i would like to get to know my mac a little bit more and "Open it up" to a bit more of its full potential, that being the case i have installed Lion on it and now it seems to be running a little slow on the start up. According to my system monitor there are copious amounts of things running but with not a lot of %. can anyone give me some ideas as to how to speed it up or clean it up or something like that, sorry, as i said i am new to this so am having trouble putting down what i mean. Any help would be most appreciated.

Yours Aye
    Jim
    13" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz Intel core 2 Duo, 8 GB MHz DDR3 OS X 10.7.2

2. TheJing macrumors 6502a

TheJing

Well I don't really think there is much you can do except upgrade your system, SSD, more RAM etc.

As for the boot time with Lion, mine doubled compared to Snow leopard and I think most people experienced that. (Not sure though...)

3. Spink10 Suspended

Spink10

I have the exact same MBP - 8GB RAM upgrade also - Lion runs fine for me. I was running Lion with 4GB RAM and need more so I upgraded to 8

4. Docslasher thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks

Thanks for the swift response, wow, didn't think it would be that fast, have been trawling through and seen a couple of options which i will give a go, but if the general concensus is that it does in general run slow then thanks, at least that puts my mind at rest, now to opening up my laptop to its full potential, this could be interesting.........

5. chrisvee macrumors regular

I've recently opened up my Macbook Pro for the first time to install a new 8GB RAM. It was relatively painless - minus the pain in my fingers from wrestling with those tiny screws with my stupidly small screwdriver.

Oh, and welcome to MacRumors!

6. calderone macrumors 68040

calderone