Improving my memory and other things

Docslasher

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 4, 2012
UK
Hi there, am new to forum thingy but not new to macs, i would like to get to know my mac a little bit more and "Open it up" to a bit more of its full potential, that being the case i have installed Lion on it and now it seems to be running a little slow on the start up. According to my system monitor there are copious amounts of things running but with not a lot of %. can anyone give me some ideas as to how to speed it up or clean it up or something like that, sorry, as i said i am new to this so am having trouble putting down what i mean. Any help would be most appreciated.

Yours Aye
Jim
13" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz Intel core 2 Duo, 8 GB MHz DDR3 OS X 10.7.2

TheJing

macrumors 6502a
Jun 13, 2011
Somewhere in Europe
Well I don't really think there is much you can do except upgrade your system, SSD, more RAM etc.

As for the boot time with Lion, mine doubled compared to Snow leopard and I think most people experienced that. (Not sure though...)

Spink10

Suspended
Nov 3, 2011
Oklahoma
Hi there, am new to forum thingy but not new to macs, i would like to get to know my mac a little bit more and "Open it up" to a bit more of its full potential, that being the case i have installed Lion on it and now it seems to be running a little slow on the start up. According to my system monitor there are copious amounts of things running but with not a lot of %. can anyone give me some ideas as to how to speed it up or clean it up or something like that, sorry, as i said i am new to this so am having trouble putting down what i mean. Any help would be most appreciated.

Yours Aye
Jim
13" Macbook Pro 2.4GHz Intel core 2 Duo, 8 GB MHz DDR3 OS X 10.7.2
I have the exact same MBP - 8GB RAM upgrade also - Lion runs fine for me. I was running Lion with 4GB RAM and need more so I upgraded to 8

Docslasher

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 4, 2012
UK
Thanks