Improving your 3G service

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by swr2000, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. swr2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #1
    I've had the EXACT same issues with connectivity and dropped calls as a majority of members on the board. I did three things today and I'm doing tremendously better.

    1.) I complained to AT&T and spoke to a rep. After the rep told me to "take your battery out and do a hard reset" after I told him 5 times I have an iPhone, I asked for his manager. The manager apologized (amazing in itself) and did a software push to my phone.

    2.) I had apple replace my initial 3G phone

    3.) I got a new SIM card from AT&T since I've had the same one since my initial iPhone.

    I don't know which of the above did it but I'm moving tremendously better today. Better reception, I haven't dropped a call since I did this, and I'm not getting those 302 server errors. My guess is that it was the push AT&T did. I'm use to Verizon where they have the *228 option to update your phone. Apparently (at least according to the manager) when you pull the battery out of a phone and put it back in, it does a search for new "software". If you can't pull out the battery for the iPhone you can't update. I'd suggest calling AT&T and asking for the "data push".
     
  2. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #2
    A software push to your phone?

    I doubt that happened.

    Probably the replacement iPhone.
     
  3. Opie macrumors 6502a

    Opie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #3
    And how did you have the original sim card if you activated in store?
     
  4. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Ha, software push. He ********ted you more than Bush did the world with Iraq.
     
  5. swr2000 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #5
    I've actually seen it referenced on this board by someone else. Either way I'm not complaining anymore

    I meant the original 3G SIM I had, that's my fault for not being clearer. I'm on my third 3G phone. I previously had a replacement phone, and kept the original SIM. Today I got a brand new one from AT&T
     
  6. SHIFTLife macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #6
    I'm sure the manager said or meant an activation push. It's basically a re-provisioning of your service and pushing the notification of abilities out to the handset. Yes it exists, and yes I can perform one myself from my AT&T Premier site for every handset on my account...even my iPhone.
     
  7. Espo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #7
    How did you do that?
     
  8. FearlessFreep macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    #8
    He has a Premier account. I don't think the normal everyday unwashed masses can do that online, although I could be wrong.
     

Share This Page