In-ear headphones for the gym

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by annk, Mar 21, 2011.

1. annk Administrator

annk

Staff Member

Every gym I've ever belonged to plays music over the speaker system, and the one I'm a member of now is no exception. I listen to audiobooks while working out (I've given up listening to music, because it can't compete volume-wise with the music over the speakers :(), and I want some earbuds that let me do this with without having to crank the volume up to a dangerous level. I've already got a high-frequency loss in my left ear (I wear a hearing aid there most of the time because of this, but not at the gym), and I used to work as a professional musician, so I'm very aware of protecting myself from more damage/tinnitus.

I'm looking at the Etymotic Research MC5 Noise Isolating In-Ear Earphones right now. Anyone have any experience with the sound-isolating aspect of these? The reviews seem good...

Thanks! :)

2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Ann, consider also taking a look at Shure in-ear headphones. I've looked at Etymotics in the past, but recurring complaints about cable and audio quality seem to crop up here and there... and they're not easy things to try out in person in store.

They're the only type of headphones that I'd use when commuting on the tube, for instance, as they do a great job of blocking out external sound to the extent that you can hear your own breathing and footfalls resonating in your head, which can be a little odd at times. Also, regardless of which brand you get, it takes a little experimentation with the different ear pieces (foam, rubber, etc) to find a good fit.

3. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

Etymonics have a reputation for making incredibly isolating earphones, but they lack punch, IMO. My brother has them. Great IEMs if you want to block out noise, but not if you want a bit of bass. The detail is there, but not everyone listens to jazz, you know. ;)