in lamens terms for a n00b, I need help

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jasmine84, Jun 7, 2007.

1. jasmine84 macrumors member

jasmine84

Hey. So I've been searching the forums and can't find what I am looking for. I am new to Mac and am trying to edit videos from my Sony DV camera using iMovie, then exporting them so I can either put them online, store them on my hard drive, or burn them onto DVD's. I have been having some issues, such as:
    - I'll have timings for scene changes (going with music for example) down perfect in iMovie, but when I export and save, the video like "freezes" sometimes (the same spot every time so it's not the comp). How can I avoid this?
    - when I use "fade out" at the end of a movie sometimes the audio repeats. Is there a format where this doesn't happen?
    - sometimes my quality is bad... like there's lines going through the movie, baby-size ones..... almost like you'd see on a big screen TV that isn't plasma or anything.

In short.... what file format is best? I'm using mp4 now.... is that the best one?

THANKS!!!!!

2. killr_b macrumors 6502a

killr_b

Um, what kinda mac do you have?
    Do you have all the software updates installed?

The lines are the i part of 60i. They are normal for video.

What are you using mp4 for? Storing finals?

3. ppc_michael Guest

ppc_michael

Hi jasmine,

What settings are you using when you export your video? Do you see the same problems when you play it back in iMovie (before you export)?