In love with my new MacPro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by roblin, May 8, 2008.

  1. roblin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    #1
    <3

    It's so incredible fast. My old comp was a 2.4ghz core2duo 1year old PC. When I was datamining 26tables of poker cpu was around 60-70% and everything was lagging, on my MacPro cpu is around 5-10% for the same task. And no lagg in sight. Dont need to worry about timing out anymore...

    My old comp couldnt watch 1080p. Now I can watch 1080p, fly around Boston in Google Earth(3d) with Vista in vmware in the background at the same time and cpu usages is around 20%, no slowdowns.

    Nothings seems to slow it down, 100 browser windows, 1080p, itunes convert, google earth, expose at the same time, whatever i throw at it, it just performs.

    Installing Vista64 was a breeze, OSX hasnt crashed anything yet, everything just works!

    If you are thinking about buying one, just buy it today, you wont regret it!

    <3
     
  2. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #2
    Nice, Looks like almost the exact config i am considering. Question: how do you like those WD640s? I was going to RAID0 a couple of them. Are they quiet, fast and cool?

    Also, what are your thoughts of the 8800 doing normal OS stuff? I heard it can be a little jerky with normal iMovie and OS stuff. I know it's fast for games.
     
  3. tobyg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #3
    This is why I don't gamble online. Well, this is one reason at least.
     
  4. BeyondMountains macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    what does it mean to be "datamining 26 tables of poker"
     
  5. tobyg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #6
    It is, in my mind, another method of cheating at poker online. If you want to play poker online, do some research and understand what you're getting into. Poker online is a game unlike poker in real life, with real cards and real people. You can't look across the table and guess if someones bluffing by the way the look at you or learn how to pick up a 'tell' by something they do. Poker online is a game, and there are many other pieces to the game than just downloading the poker game client. There are full on poker-playing clients that will 100% cheat by not only data mining but playing hands automatically for you based on what the software has learned from the people it's playing against. I realized this a while ago when learning of all the unsanctioned and illegal software used to play poker online. Maybe the OP is just data mining for educational purposes only. I just don't see how educational that can be, as very little learned from online poker play could be translated to playing poker face to face.
     
  6. fiercetiger224 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #7
    Haha nice. I'm in love with my Mac Pro as well. I can play a couple of ProRes clips without any chugs, where my Macbook couldn't play both! It would just chug. I can pretty much leave all my apps open and encode video, use Motion, After Effects, without any hitches in speed. 8 cores can really make a difference in power multi-tasking!

    I'm planning on upgrading to 16 GB...Actually I'm contemplating if I should go the 32 GB route in the future. That means I'll have to shell out money for those 4 GB sticks then...Ugh. :(
     
  7. roblin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    #8
    they work fine. really fast and silent. one option you could consider is one 640gb for OS and 3x1TB for storage. a bit more expensive but more porn. i was to lazy to bother with raid. 100MB/s is enough for me.

    8800 works great. have some problems with 8800+2600 in vista, cannot use the 2600. but i dont care, only use vista for poker and i shouldnt be watching movies on when i am playing poker.



    datamining isnt cheating. its allowed.
     
  8. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #9
    Hi,

    I've got one WD which came along with the machine. It's much more noisy than my 2 Seagate 7200.11, which are barely noticeable.

    sash
     
  9. roblin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    #10
    the standard 320gb was noisy.... the 640gb is silent
     
  10. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #11
    right. the wd640 is special (dual platter) like the Samsung drives.

    i had heard the 7200.11 were good drives also.

    more than likely i will remove the 320 and replace it with a wd640 then raid0 2 or 3 of the 640s in the other bays.
     
  11. roblin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
  12. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #13
    that is fabulous. max'ed out! btw msft is redoing how it scales that rating since a lot of machines are max'ing it at 5.9 these days.
     
  13. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #14
    I've got exactly the same figures, but for the system HDD (standard WD 320) -- 5,8.

    sash
     
  14. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #15
    I'm sorry,

    My primary drive is WDC5000AAKS, 500 GB. Not 320 as I've said before.

    sash
     
  15. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #16
    WD500 boot drive

    is that the one you say is louder than the 7200.11s?
     
  16. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #17
    Hi,

    Yes, that one.

    I have to say though that WDC5000AAKS is way more quiet than my other 2 Seagate 7200.10 ST3500630AS 500 GB (on another Mac), but Barracuda 7200.11 ST3750330AS 750gb is just completely silent. You're simply not hearing them working.

    I'm planning to replace this WDC by a 7200.11 -- or maybe something newer they'll produce.

    BTW, I was quite surprised finding a WD inside Mac Pro. As far as I know, Apple has always used Seagate or Hitachi. Even my first G4 back in the 90-s has a Seagate. But OK, WD could get better in the meanwhile.

    sash
     
  17. tom. macrumors 6502

    tom.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    If that quote is true, it furthers the idea that Microsoft don't actually think about anything, before they do it. That performance check is supposed to indicate how well your machine will run vista with Aero. So unless there's going to be some intensive changes (which would piss A LOT of people off, considering they haven't even smoothed out the important stuff fully yet) there is absolutely no point. All it will do is make the test more intensive, making your machine appear slower, making it completely useless in deciding whether to use Aero or not.

    IDK where you heard that, but personally I think it sounds ridiculous.

    Sorry to go off topic. Glad you like you Mac Pro ;)
     
  18. OddThomas macrumors regular

    OddThomas

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    #19
    Getting my MP next week before long weekend

    Since i am waiting for new Apple ACDs i ordered and "temp" monitor, a Samsung 22" T220, looks really nice. $350 at Amazon. I get it on Tuesday.

    Also, ordered 8gig RAM from OWC and 3xWD640 HDs. I will get those on Tues-Wed. Will have everything ready, then will go to apple store to get a 8X2.8M MPro.

    Now i just need to finish all the yard work so nothing will distract me from my new delivery :)
     
  19. tdar macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    On the Space Coast
    #20

    Sorry to take this off topic again but I had to respond to the above. The Vista Performance Index is NOT designed to tell you how well Vista will run on your system, It's designed to allow software developers to tell you how well their software will run on your system. It's not that Microsoft did not "think" as you put it but in fact just the opposite.

    The Vista Performance scale was designed to allow for change as computers get faster as they always do. For now it is limited to a 5.9, but the limits will be raised as system performance improves.

    I know your a Mac person but come on.....I also know it's blasphemy to say something good about Microsoft here but doing this is smart.
     
  20. ceres macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Dark Forests of Germania
    #21
    I am also very content with my Octa MP after the latest EFI Upgrade fixed the reboot on wake up slugfest. I have since added 3 1TB Spinpoints and absolutely regard this MP as one piece of quality hardware. It´s only my second Apple Computer. I previously tried to get an AL 24" iMac with a screen that would field picture quality close to 500$ standalones but ALL units I have had on my desk or seen at retailers were utter junk. Hence the Mac Pro.
    It has got all the core qualities the current iMac lineup is devoid of.
    I am monitoring developments in the video card sector as I want to add some gaming might to my setup. No rush, though ;)
     
  21. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #22
    Wow.... he found a way to illegally cheat people out of their money faster and more efficiently. That's um.. a heartwarming story..?

    What a douche.
     
  22. roblin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    #23
    its not illegal and its not cheating. it improves my edge marginally, and yes improves my hourly wage. poker is a game where you use all (legal) means possible to increase your edge against your opponents.

    right now the rules on most major sites are that you are allowed to use statistics programs(like pokertracker.com ), but your are not allowed to share databases. bots, colluding, chipdumping and a few other nasty practices are not allowed either.

    there are lots of sites which goes around this(database sharing) by providing highlights from the data, http://www.sharkscope.com/index.html being the most popular (you can try it for free/no-signup if you want). if you are intrested in which programs are allowed at the site you play just check the FAQ at the site you play. if you dont like the rules dont play on that site.


    i just wanted to share that the 8core is useful for me.
     
  23. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #24
    glad to see that you like your mac pro. i like mine also, even though i only have 4 cores
     
  24. notoriousceo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    SFO + BKK
    #25
    Mac Pro and Transintl.com RAM

    I am anxiously waiting for FedEx to deliver my Mac Pro. I went and picked up my 8GB RAM today from Transintl.com since they're local to me. I tell ya, #1 in outstanding service. :D

    I also looked into iRAM at Newegg.com who was also local, but they said I had to order online, no will call. So they lost my business. I try to buy local now, hoping to help the local economy. :)

    Next step would be to test out my memory in the Mac.

    Specs as ordered from Apple:
    2.8ghz quad core (Single chip)
    500GB HD
    2GB RAM
    Wi-Fi Extreme card
    8800GT Video Card

    2x Samsung 24 inch LCDs

    I am adding a 500GB Maxtor HD picked up at Fry's electronics and the 8GB (4 x 2GB sticks).

    I should be set for the next 5 years with this set up for internet surfing (web, free online tv, radio), email, iTunes, Adobe CS3 suite, Vista Ultimate 64 bit, and Office Professional Ultimate.

    Oh yes, a game or two now and then.

    Any thoughts on the Maxtor SATAII drive, regarding noise? I want a quiet Mac.

    Waiting, waiting. Yes, also in love already!

    Edit: The first order: DOA so I picked up a Mac Pro at the Apple Store.
    2.8ghz 8 Core
    Added Wi-Fi Extreme Card at the store
    now 12GB RAM
    Bay 1 HD 320GB Seagate (Stock), Bay 2 HC 500GB Seagate (Stock), Bay 3 HD 1TB Samsung, Bay 4 HD 320GB WD Caviar -> My Vista Ultimate 64bit Machine
    Added Pioneer 115D to the second superdrive bay.
    Graphics is the ATI 2600

    Vista Runs better on my Mac Pro than I've seen on other high end PCs from HP, Gateway, Dell.
     

Share This Page