In need of advice!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by SLC Flyfishing, Jan 14, 2010.

1. SLC Flyfishing Suspended

SLC Flyfishing

I have a new opportunity which has fallen into my lap. I'm wondering if I should do it or pass it up.

I am a pre-medical student, and should be applying for medical school in a few months, but I've recently made the decision to put it off for one more year because I don't feel I've taken the proper care to organize my application materials well enough, nor do I think I can do so adequately between now and the application date.

Normally this would be a real problem as it basically puts my plans on hold for a full year longer, but because of this new opportunity I don't feel that bad about it.

My undergraduate degree (which I'll be finishing soon) is a health degree, which focuses on Emergency Medical Systems. You have to choose one of 4 tracks:

1. Education: you take courses certifying you to teach EMS classes, and you take some classes in the department of Education.

2. Management: You focus on EMS administration.

3. Wilderness response: You become EMT certified, and take courses in wilderness medicine and search and rescue techniques.

4. Community Response: You become a fully certified Paramedic (usually a 3 year process from start to finish).

I've chosen Community Response because I'm really interested in Trauma, this gives me access to trauma care during my undergraduate career.

Now I still have to take the full Paramedic course, I've been certified to an Intermediate EMT level. This means I have the ability to do things such as place ET tubes, run IV lines and administer a number of IV emergent medications. I also am trained to use a non-automatic defibrilator. Among other things.