In need of new battery?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by das1223, Jul 28, 2014.

1. das1223 macrumors newbie

Hello,

I have a 13inch MBA, late 2010 version.

Question #1:
    I'm thinking of updating to the retina MBA once it comes out, but meanwhile, I was wondering if it's time that I replace the battery. I haven't been using my MBA much for the last two years (once a week or so) and these days when I turn it on I realize I get around 3 hrs max from it.

When I look at my battery stats though, it shows:
    Health: 84~85%
    Cycles: 499 only

and I've been told that it takes around 1000 cycles that the battery starts to fail. Anyone know why it's been only getting around 3 hrs, without any intense work? All I do really is internet surf and write. Is the health level of the battery decent? or in need of change?

Question #2:
    I'm not sure if this is the correct place to ask this question, but if I decide to sell instead and upgrade, what is the current value of my MBA? (how much can i sell it for?)

Here's the specs:
    Processor 2.13 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256 MB
    Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 (11G63)

Thanks so much for reading this!

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Look in Activity Monitor in the CPU tab and see if you have anything there chewing up a high amount of CPU cycles. If you don't, then yes it sounds like your battery is in need of replacement. The life of these batteries varies a lot based on usage and that 1,000 cycles is just a guideline.

Looks like those models are selling for around $500 on eBay.

A suggestion. You might try upgrading to Mavericks. Mavs has better power and memory management and might help you milk a little more time out of your existing battery.

3. das1223 thread starter macrumors newbie