In search of PowerPC in NYC

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by PowerPeaceSea, Aug 2, 2014.

  1. PowerPeaceSea macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    #1
    Hello. My 17 inch MacBookPro's (power PC) monitor and graphics card stopped working. I cannot see anything on the screen or on another monitor. I need to transfer important info from Power PC applications that will not open in the new MacBooks. Is there anyone in the NYC area with a portable working Power PC Mac who can help me?
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    This is a more appropriate thread for the Marketplace because you are offering to purchase one. I would check your local Craigslist.
     
  3. PowerPeaceSea thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    #3
    Actually, I am not looking to purchase one, but to perhaps rent one for a couple of hours so I can transfer the data. Is this not the right forum for this request?
     
  4. sarthak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Sounds like you have a PowerBook G4 17"... if I interpreted your post correctly.

    If you have an Intel Mac that can run Snow Leopard, you should be able to connect the PowerBook hard drive through an external hard drive enclosure to an available USB socket. From there, you can run PowerPC / rosetta applications.

    Perhaps you can check craigslist to see if anyone is selling their PowerBook G4 and ask if they are willing to rent their unit out. You can also try Yelp or other places to search for retailers that offer Mac Rentals.
     
  5. PowerPeaceSea thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    #5
    Thanks. I will try asking on Craiglist as well. I'm really hoping someone will be able to help me.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6

    I hope so too! Do you own another Mac at all? Does the PowerBook boot up but the graphics card has failed? Does anything show on the screen if you shine a bright light on it?
     
  7. PowerPeaceSea thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    #7
    No, unfortunately the screen is black and nothing appears on a second monitor. Thanks.
     
  8. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #8
    Well... if it powers on but the GPU has indeed failed then put it into Target Disk Mode and connect it to any Mac you have. Create a disk image of the hard drive and when you get a new machine, simply restore the disk image to the new one's hard drive through Disk Utility.
     

Share This Page