Incorrect location problems

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by JCooke, May 27, 2016.

  1. JCooke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    #1
    I am having problems viewing websites as many websites incorrectly think I am in China when I'm in the UK. Not all websites get this wrong, but many shopping websites do which is annoying as all currency and shipping information is wrong.

    This is not a browser issue as the same problem occurs in Safari, Firefox and Chrome. I've deleted browsers and associated files and reinstalled with no success. I've reset my router and reconfigured internet access and no success either.

    I now suspect the information is being picked up from the OS somewhere and fed to the browser? Does anyone know how to correct this issue?

    The problem occurred recently when I installed an add-on to Firefox to create a VPN to mask my location. The problem is that this Add-on is now uninstalled, but default settings have not been reset.

    Anyone know how to solve this please? TIA.
     
  2. Basilomnor macrumors newbie

    Basilomnor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #2
    I had the same problem with Sky Go here in the UK. After a router reboot i ended up with a non-UK external IP address, which led Sky Go to say I was in a different geography (USA in this case) and not-entitled to view content. They suggested leaving router turned off for 2 hours and then trying again - this worked as it picked up a UK based IP. I'm sure they would have set to uk themselves if i'd asked.

    Basil.
     
  3. JCooke thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Good should from Basil; for some reason my ISP (Hyperoptic) shows me as being in the US when I'm playing games like 8 Ball Pool. Not that it makes much of a difference, except my opponents think they're getting beaten down by a Yank rather than a Limey :)

    However could you confirm which VPN add-on you installed? We can have a look to see what settings it changes, as it's possibly more likely that's directly related to the problem.
     
  5. Basilomnor macrumors newbie

    Basilomnor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    #5
    Not going through any VPN add-on - just going to the Sky Go web site using Safari, or Sky Go App in IOS. Get error message re: out of territory to view content, using whatsmyIP or similar site establish using non UK based IP address. Once corrected all is fine on both OS'. The issue you are having sounds subtly different to mine?

    Basil
     
  6. JCooke thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    #6
    All sorted now thanks. I left the router unplugged overnight and all is good now. Thanks for your help.
     

Share This Page