Increase keyboard click sound back to normal?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Vandam500, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #1
    I was on 3.0 for for a while and updated to 3.1.2 not too long ago. All is good except for the keyboard click sounds! They are so low I really am starting to hate it.

    I've tried all the Volume Boosts from Cydia and nothing works. Is there a file I can edit via SSH to increase it? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    You actually liked that extra loud click every time you typed? :D
    I think now its a little better but to its his own I guess.
    I wonder if replacing the particular click-sound file thru SSH with an older one from 3.0 would do it.
     
  3. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #3
    Yeah I loved it. You know what file it was so I can replace/modify it!
     
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    Took me two minutes to find it browsing through the file structure, and about 5 seconds searching for "keyboard sound iphone" on Google. Come on.
     
  5. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #5
    Hmm I just have bad luck. I searched for it but didn't find it. Let me search again that way:p
     
  6. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
  7. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #7
    Yeah that is what was listed on the first search in google:rolleyes: Thanks again

    Ok I just SSH'd the file from a iPhone running 3.0 onto mines and the sound level is the same. That file is to change the sound of the click not the volume of the click.
     
  8. BergerFan macrumors 68020

    BergerFan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Mos Eisley
    #8
    I got the Typewriter Sounds from Cydia, and SSH'ed them to my iPhone, replacing the default keyboard clicks which sucked.
    :D
     
  9. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #9
    I still haven't found the file I have to modify to boost the keyboard click volume. I have a iPhone 3GS running on 3.1.2 and there is a iPhone 3G on 3.0 on my house. So I can easily copy a file from the 3G onto my 3GS.

    Anybody know what file it is?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Any way you can modify/raise the volume of the sound file and then copy it back thru ssh to your iPhone?
    Just throwing ideas.
     
  11. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #11
    Hmmm not sure if that's possible. I mean I have yet to find file I even need to modify the volume of it. The Tock.caf file is what it sounds like but not the volume of it.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    I see, so its gotta be a setting somewhere in the OS that Apple adjusted with the latest update maybe.
    How about that Typewriter sound the other guy suggested? :D
     
  13. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #13
    Yeah I installed that one and was using other ones such as the Blackberry Storm click and the volume of the typing click is still the same :(
     
  14. foob macrumors 6502

    foob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #14
    Dunno if it helps but there is also one in /System/Library/Frameworks/UIKit.frameworks/Tock.aiff
     
  15. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #15
    Let me check it out. Thanks
     
  16. foob macrumors 6502

    foob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #16
    There are some volume level plists in /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Celestial.framework but it looks messy. There are several subdirectories, all with the same files.
     
  17. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #17
    Damn. Looks like we are going to have to do a lot of digging and what not. I'ma give it a go and try my best to find it. Thanks for your help man:)

    Have been at it all day and nothing yet:(. I'm going to ask Saurik and see if he can help us with this. Looks like nobody has been able to do it and he is the right person to ask:). I'll report back with his response.
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Good luck with it.
    Maybe while he's at it he can whip up a cydia package for it :)
     
  19. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #19
    Still no response :( I posted it on the Modmyi Forums as well.
     
  20. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #20
    Vandam: there's a "Tock.aiff" file in System/Library/Frameworks/UIKit.framework/. Have you tried replacing that one?
     
  21. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #21
    I tried to boost the sound of it and uploaded it back but didn't work. I can't replace it with the one from the 3.0 iPhone because its not here :(. I wonder if we use a original one from 3.0 firmware it would work?
     
  22. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #22
    Maybe 3.1 doesn't use the /System/Library/Audio/UISounds/tock.caf but instead uses the new /System/Library/Frameworks/UIKit.framework/tock.aiff?
     
  23. Vandam500 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #23
    Hmm I never thought of that. Darn I need access to 3.0 files to test!
     

Share This Page