Increase Macintosh HD partition

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by blackfang, Dec 11, 2014.

  1. blackfang macrumors member

    blackfang

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Location:
    Romania
    #1
    Hello,
    Can somebody help me with a simple legit solution in which i can increase my OS partition? (without formatting the HDD and restoring)
    Apparently i've got the Recovery HD between two partitions, and dunno what should i do, i don't wanna break my mac. (i've attached a screenshot)
    [​IMG]
    Please help :apple:
     
  2. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #2
    You see the shaded bottom right corner of each partition box? Use the one on the Documents partition to drag it to reduce that partitions size, then you should be able to drag the Macintosh' partition to increase it as required.

    DU will warn you which partitions it will be resizing and should advise you no data will be lost but I would still take a complete backup of the whole machine first.
     
  3. blackfang thread starter macrumors member

    blackfang

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Location:
    Romania
    #3
    Mate thanks for the reply,
    but thats why i added a print screen with the terminal volumes list, because i cannot increase the size at the OS partition , even if i make the other one smaller, that's why i asked for help :)
    I found this as an issue on the internet because the Recovery partition is between my Macintosh HD and Documents HD, but i couldn't find the exact solution (besides formatting all my drive and restoring it after i increased its size). I even went into recovery mode and couldn't increase the size.
    I even tried to check if i got "diskutil corestorage list" and i don't.
    Some help please :apple:
     
  4. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #4
    You have the right diagnosis.

    You cannot increase your Mac OS partition because of the Recovery partition.

    The solution is to clone your current two partitions to and external drive (=two clones), then boot up from the OS clone, erase the internal drive and re-partition it.

    Then reverse clone the clones to the internal drive.

    (I wonder why you have an OS and a Documents partition ? This is useless)
     
  5. 0x100 macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    Don't partition your drive from disk utility from your disk, it'll be slow. Do it from another computer instead.

    ----------

    Windows can't read HFS+ if I remember correctly. That could be a good reason. When I was doing some multi boot things on a PC I made a 10 gig FAT32 partition so it could be used by both of my os.
     
  6. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #6
    What are you smoking ? :D

    There is no Windows computer here.
     
  7. 0x100 macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    Ok, then it makes no sense at all.
     
  8. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #8
    So the drag slider on the OS partition will let you decrease but not increase?

    If you can't blow away the Recovery partition on its own then I think you are stuck with backing up and repartitioning the drive.

    If you can remove the Recovery partition on its own, that should let you do what you want, you could then use CCC to add the Recovery partition back in.

    Either way you'll need a backup first so perhaps easier to just repartition the whole drive and restore.
     
  9. blackfang thread starter macrumors member

    blackfang

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Location:
    Romania
    #9
    I know it quite is, but in my theory, i am keeping all my work documents + extra important stuff in that partition, so that in any chance i want to reformat with a different version of OS in the future i will just fresh install it in the Macintosh HD, that saving me all the copying and pasting my documents back and forth .
    It's quite uncommon for mac users to do that right? (i just transitioned from windows a month ago with my new MBPR 15 :apple:)

    I might do that! Sound like a good plan, i got CCC. Cheers Simonsi

    Thank you everybody for you quick replies ! :)
    Best forum :apple:
     
  10. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #10
    Cool, if you do CCC will notice there is no Recovery partition on the 2nd clone attempt back, so copy it once, go to copy again and it will ask if you want to create the Recovery Partition.
     
  11. blackfang thread starter macrumors member

    blackfang

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Location:
    Romania
    #11
    Oh i see, so need to backup the Macintosh HD twice so CCC will ask me to backup also the recovery partition. Good to know!
    I got an external 2TB HDD which i use just for Time Machine, Can i partition it so i can make that partition for cloning? (from what i know CCC formats the partition that is selected so that it's bootable, don't wanna loose all those backups from time machine)
     
  12. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #12
    Not quite, one copy away will be fine, its the copy back, the second time CCC will recognise it as bootable and check the Recovery partition and find it isn't there so give you the option.

    So copy away both partitions
    Format drive
    create your partitions
    copy OSX back with CCC
    copy OSX back again - then it will create the Recovery partition for you
    copy other stuff to other partition with CCC
     

Share This Page