Increased VRAM with more RAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Trinite, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. Trinite macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #1
    Hi all,

    This is probably a stupid question - apologies in advance! :)

    But back when the new Mini came out, I remember seeing a number of threads that mentioned a bump in VRAM with more installed RAM (from 512MB to 768MB).

    Is this something that only happens with the integrated HD4000? Or would it also apply to the VRAM of the discrete GPU in the iMac? If so, it would certainly change things....

    Thanks!
     
  2. ihuman:D macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Sorry, the GPU in the iMac uses its own vram so you can't get more vram unless you upgrade the GPU. The reason Intel graphics get more vram when you upgrade your memory is because it shares the ram with the system.
     
  3. Trinite thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #3
    Thanks very much - I was afraid of that. Oh, well....
     
  4. ihuman:D macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    The GPU in the entry-level iMac beats the crap out of the hd4000. So it will still be way faster!
     
  5. Trinite thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #5
    Yeah, no question. But what I've really been worrying about is whether the 512MB on the 650M (for the 21.5) will be enough. It's clear that the 27" is by far the better deal here, given the RAM issue, and the GPU options. But that screen is just TOO DAMN HUGE for me: I feel crushed when I sit in front of it....:eek:
     
  6. Razorhog macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #6
    That feeling wanes with time and gets replaced with a feeling of freedom.
     

Share This Page