Increasing disk space of XP on VMware

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by iMacZealot, Aug 11, 2008.

  1. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #1
    My sister uses XP via VMware Fusion on her Mac. I set it up for her about two months ago, originally allocating 5GB of space for Windows. I figured that would be enough as she would only be using the web and I've used computers with far less actual space than that before. However, I underestimated the size of Windows.

    I've tried increasing the space by using vdiskmanager GUI, but I always get an error message. I've tried using the command line it generates in Terminal, but that doesn't work either. I also followed all of these instructions. I've done trial and error for two and a half hours and I'm stumped.

    What is wrong?

    Thanks.
     
  2. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #2
    Might it be easiest if she uninstall everything and then reinstall? She doesn't have anything on the partition that is important.

    She just needs something quickly, as she depends on Windows for her work.

    Thanks.
     
  3. fstfrwrd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    Yes, if that's the case, then I reckon that'll be the quickest and least painful way to do it.
     
  4. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #4
    You know, I've thought about it, and I think that's the route I'm going to take. It will be a lot easier on me to uninstall and reinstall VMware and going through the XP activation hotline than saying the spells unfamiliar to me to increase the virtual disk.
     
  5. frenly macrumors newbie

    frenly

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    how bout increasing the size of xp in bootcamp? Izzit possible ? or any application recommended
     
  6. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    #6
    I don't think that would work unless if you set up Boot Camp in addition to VMware, which I didn't. VMware can run on a virtual disk without a Boot Camp partition.

    In the end, I just uninstalled everything and reinstalled it. It was a lot easier than spending the time and effort to find the potion that expands it, and Microsoft didn't give me any flack for activating XP twice.
     

Share This Page