Increasing iMac VRAM?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by t4ct1c4lr3m1x, Oct 12, 2008.

  1. t4ct1c4lr3m1x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #1
    I bought the 2.4GHz iMac with the ATI HD 2400 XT video card. Is there anyway to increase the video ram that this card produces? I know, in Windows, you can do this in the BIOS, but I'm not aware that the iMac has a BIOS. so what can I do?

    Thanks.
     
  2. t4ct1c4lr3m1x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #3
    So, I can't increase video ram past 128MB unless the game uses the iMac acceleration?
     
  3. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    Yea, true, because the mac OSX only runs on certain hardware their is no BIOS needed because Apple can automatically set it to the correct BIOS, and hide that whole menu, windows runs on so many hardware situation they need the manufacturer to set the BIOS or consumer set the BIOS so they put it in plain slight
     
  4. t4ct1c4lr3m1x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #5
    So, do you happen to know what the max it can go to is?
     
  5. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #6
    Macs do no use BIOS.

    There is no hidden settings menu.

    The memory for the graphics card on all but a few iMacs are physical chips on the mother board, there is no way to add more.



    As for being able to increse the available graphics memory on a PC, this is only doable if you have an intergrated graphics system, like the Macbook as these computers do not have seperate graphics memory, they use some of the main system ram.


    The artical linked by italiano40 was last updated in 2000, so is really geared towards the old CRT G3 iMacs :)


    So, in short, you stuck with the hardware you have, there is no way to increse the available graphics RAM.
     
  6. IroquoisPliskin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    #7
    The only way to add more is to sell your iMac and buy a new one with the amount you want.
     
  7. t4ct1c4lr3m1x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #8
    Alright, thank you for your help. I may end up selling mine to upgrade to the 24" with 512MB of VRAM. Who knows, for now, I guess this will do.
     
  8. dkordik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #9
    I'm about to buy a 20 inch with the 128 of video memory- just curious, why wasn't 128 cutting it? What kinda stuff do you do that uses video memory?
     
  9. opeter macrumors 65816

    opeter

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    #10
    Well, maybe he is playing high-end games?

    The GF8800GS will be x-times faster than your current Radeon 9800, but dont think, that Crisys will work on on very high resolutions.
     
  10. t4ct1c4lr3m1x thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #11
    I was looking to play Crysis, but that probably won't be happening, even on the lowest settings.
     
  11. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #12
    Amount of vram only really starts to matter at high resolutions - the video card itself is going to be far more important in most circumstances than the amount of vram, and the HD 2400XT is very weak - even if you were able to increase the amount of vram on your current card (you can't), it most likely wouldn't give you a performance increase at all because the card is too weak to play things at high enough resolutions to matter.
     

Share This Page