Increasing RAM in 2010 17" MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MoodyM, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. MoodyM macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #1
    I have a Mid-2010 17" MacBook Pro with 4 GB of 1066 MHz DDR3 SDRAM (PC3-8500) installed in pairs (two 2 GB modules).

    I want to upgrade to 8GB. Do I need to buy 2 x 4GB 1066Mhz DDR3 SDRAM?

    Or do I need 2 *further* 2GB modules?

    Can I get faster RAM than 1066Mhz DDR3?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #3
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    You can buy both, no need for Apple specific RAM though.And yes, 1333 MHz RAM will work, I have that kind of RAM in my 2009 MBP. The Mac recognises it as such, but will probably not take advantage of it, and even if it would, it would be negligible.
     
  5. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #5
    This one here is 1333Mhz:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-CMX...1_2?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1362916338&sr=1-2

    ----------

    I got this reply on the Apple discussion boards:

    "1333 MHz DDR3 RAM won't work with your Mac. Your Mac only works with 1066 MHz DDR3 RAM.

    Apart from that, I highly recommend you to get memory from OWC or Crucial, so you will be sure that the memory you buy is compatible with your computer. You can try with that Amazon memory (it looks like that memory is designed for Macs) and see if it works, but I'm not sure that it works"

    ----------

    I order this one:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/memory-upgr...1_1?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1362917076&sr=1-1

    Does it matter that it says 1067Mhz and not 1066Mhz?
     
  6. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    Not it does not matter.

    There is no such thing as "Mac Memory". RAM is RAM, companies slap that sticker on packaging as an excuse to charge 10-15 bucks extra per set, when they are no different than the regular stuff.
     
  7. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #7
    Do you think I'll notice a performance boost, going from 4GB to 8GB (bearing in mind at the same time I'm swapping out the current (faulty) Toshiba 1TB 5400rpm hard drive for a 750GB 7200rpm, 6Gb/s, 32MB cache Seagate Momentus XT hybrid drive)?
     
  8. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #8
    More RAM does not equate to more speed unless you're running out of RAM in the first place. Since you have no listed your normal usage patterns, it's impossible to say wether you'll benefit from more RAM or not.

    Think of RAM as your desk, and the processor as a worker at that desk. The bigger the desk, the more stuff you can put on it for your employee to do. If the employee is not running out of room on the desk to add more tasks, a bigger desk will not benefit him.
     
  9. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #9
    I recommend Kingston (Elpida) and Crucial (Micron) RAM.

    Yes, you can.

    ----------

    :)
     

Share This Page