Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tfsweet

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 17, 2005
Hey Guys,
I'm fairly new to InDesign CS2 but did use Pagemaker a bit more and I was wondering what the purpose of linking is? My friend sent me an ID document and I opened it up but it says that I have to link up certain graphics and such but those graphics still show up in the ID document. In pagemaker, I was always told to link up pictures so that they will show on the template so they show inside the document. In IDCS2, it is necessary to link the all the graphics and whatnot? If so, what is the exact reasoning behind this?

-Thanks

tobefirst ⚽️

macrumors 601
Jan 24, 2005
St. Louis, MO
If you're talking about the items that show up in the "Links" palette...

On screen, ID renders an approximate idea of all the images that you place or import into the document. This is just for placement, however, and doesn't show the final output. For final output, ID just remembers the location of these graphics and instead inserts the actual file (.tif, .psd, .ai, etc.) in that space, thereby assuring that you get an accurate, high quality result.

The files are linked rather than embedded in order to keep file size down and assure that you are able to edit the source files at will and not have to worry about re-embedding them, or placing them again. All you have to do is update them.

QuarkXpress works the same way. If you need to send these files to another computer to print, or to an outside print vendor, it is important that you grab all of the image files as well as the .indd or Quark document. "Package" or "Collect for Output" (under the File menu) is what this is used for.

nightwolf

macrumors member
Oct 4, 2005
Ontario, CANADA
Linking with indesign