Industrial Engineering Internship Help?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by CalPoly10, Jun 25, 2008.

1. CalPoly10 macrumors regular

Hello. This may be a weird question for these forums, but here we go.

I am a 3rd year Industrial Engineer at Cal Poly, and I recently gained an internship at a manufacturing plant.

My project is to optimize the way production/employee times are recorded, input, and used to estimate costs for a BOM. Currently, the plant has about 30 low-education workers. There are 3 floor bosses that manage the workers.

The process (currently) is for the employee to fill in a time sheet every day. The time sheet layout is made for detailed analysis of daily jobs (drilling, cutting, machining, etc., and the time spend on each), but all the employees just fill out the total hours worked, because they can work on many processes in one day.

We are trying to figure out a method for this time management system to become much more accurate.

My ideas are:
    Force employees to fill in time cards either hourly or bi-hourly.
    Allow 5 minute break every 2 hours for employees to recap their work.

Any input? Thanks.

2. CalPoly10 thread starter macrumors regular

I'm thinking something along the lines of a few computer systems on the work floor, maybe 2.

Hopefully I can find a system that allows employees to enter an EMPL# and password, so they can manage their work times at the end of the day.

That information can then be submitted to a database, which cancels out paperwork?

3. mikeyredk macrumors 65816