Inel Xeon 5400 on MAC Pro 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by reasonchik, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. reasonchik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #1
    Hi Guys,
    Please tell me who knows how to put Intel xeon 5400 on Mac Pro 1,1.
    I was told that it was possible.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Snowshiro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #2
    You were told wrong. It can't be done.
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
  4. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    1,1s and 2,1s only work with 5100/5300 series CPUs. Though the socket pin-out is the same on the 5400 series (LGA 771), it requires a different chipset.

    The fastest you can go with your machine is a pair of X5365s; they're the same 3GHz quad-cores used in the 2,1 machine from 2007.
     
  5. reasonchik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #5
    I was told that it is necessary to modify the SMC.
     
  6. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #6
    Seriously, it is not possible. Either you are trolling trying to see how many people will argue otherwise or you are completely ignorant. If it were possible, these forums would know how. Only the 3,1's can run the 5400 series processors (as well as the 5100 and 5300).
     
  7. reasonchik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #7
    I do not troll, and I apologize for the ignorance. I was just told that this is possible. That's why I decided to ask in this forum.
     
  8. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #8
    AFAIK the 1,1 chipset actually supports 5400 series CPU's according to Intels own spec sheets (that's why this idea came up in the first place) - it's only that Apple does not support this configuration. Hence the guess that you would need firmware / SMC changes (in other words: The problem lies in Apple's part of the machine).

    @OP: So far nobody has been successful in running 5400 CPU's in the 1,1 or 2,1 MacPro's, even though it has been tried. As those machines are growing outdated by the day and Apple has officially ceased support, chances are low (and falling) that someone will eventually succeed in finding out how to use 5400 CPU's in those Mac Pro's...
     
  9. reasonchik thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    #9
    Thanks for information
    But there is a possibility that they can be installed?
     
  10. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #10
    This is one of those time where if you need to ask the question you don't have the skill set required to do the job.

    Put some 5355's in there and call it good.
     
  11. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    NO.

    Apple's systems use a different firmware standard than most any other machine out there (at the time the 1,1 was made, only the Itanium boards used EFI based firmware).

    To date, no one has reverse engineered the existing firmware in order to make the necessary modifications that would allow additional CPUIDs to run on your machine. And given the complexity and difficulty of doing this, it's highly unlikely this will ever change.
     
  12. PowerPCMacMan macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #12
    Actually.. it does work: here's how.

    First step is you need to get the 2008 Mac Pro case. Second, get the 2008 logic board as the 2008 version won't fit in the 06-07 case - ports not lining up or something, also the ram area is different.

    Third, get the heat sinks and processors of your choice. You have a choice between the 2.8, 3.0 or 3.2(requires a different board).

    Voila! You have a 2008 Mac Pro. Seriously, as everyone on here has told you. It CANNOT be done. If it could be done many of us would have been successful with it. Harpertown 5400s don't work in the woodcrest/clovertown based Mac Pros. Period.
     

Share This Page