Infected WiFi Network and iPhone.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MunchenEconomic, Jul 27, 2010.

1. MunchenEconomic macrumors newbie

Hello, this is my first time posting here, and I'm not sure if this is the exact spot to post this, but it feels to me a general issue that can probably be answered by someone here.

Recently I was away on vacation and arrived back to work today, and going back to the building I work at I learn that a virus has managed to infect the wireless network (they leave the network open - I'm a college student and I don't make the decisions) and were telling anyone whoever used the network to do a scan of their computer and check for infection.

Now, I have never used the WiFi at work with my iPhone, but do not bother to actually switch off the WiFi setting everytime I come in, but on hearing this news I turned my WiFi setting off just to be sure. But one of the people working on the network told me today that even though I never connected to the WiFi via my phone (nor even opened any internet using app that would even bring up the option to connect) merely having my WiFi enabled can infect my iPhone and can help spread whatever worm it is to other networks.

I know this sounded like BS to me (knowing the little I do regarding the application of viruses and their affect on the iPhone), but I'm always a bit paranoid and usually I would have wiped my phone and just restored a backup, but having just arrived back into town I have info on my phone I haven't yet backed up.

So if any kind person here would be able to give me a straight answer on this, I'd be most appreciative. As I said before, I know little on this subject, but it seems pretty unreliable what they told, but I don't want to risk possibly spreading anything to my own personal wifi network.

2. MicroApple macrumors regular