Infinite Loop

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ZebOfMac, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. ZebOfMac macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #1
    Dusting off my old computer books and was wondering if anyone knows of an Infinite Loop that runs on OS X?

    Interesting to see how this would tax the CPU or is there a better code out there now?

    Cheers!
    Chris
    :cool::apple:
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    So, do you just want to max out the CPU? CPUTest does pretty good job with that
     
  3. ZebOfMac thread starter macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #3
    Thanks,

    Yes, thats what I am wanting to do.

    Now, for the same sort of software but ran on the GPU to examine the chips.

    Cheers!
    Chris
    :cool::apple:
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  5. DustyLBottoms macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #5
    There's only 1 Infinite Loop I know off.......;)
     
  6. ZebOfMac thread starter macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #6
    Thanks again HellHammer!
    I am putting these all together onto a thumb drive for backup as well.
     
  7. ZebOfMac thread starter macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #7
    Dusty,

    These are an old way of testing chip sets by repeating a command over and over ... until an external ctrl is used to stop the test.

    Old Computer Science stuff. :)

    Cheers!,
    Chris
    :cool::apple:
     
  8. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
  9. ZebOfMac thread starter macrumors regular

    ZebOfMac

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #9
    This didn't do anything; probably as I was doing it wrong. I need to learn how to use terminal for OS X.

    Any good books anyone could suggest?

    Cheers!
    Chris
    :cool::apple:
     
  10. tjb1 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #10
    Just type this in terminal and hit enter. Control-C or Quit terminal to stop it.

    yes > /dev/null

    go to Activity Monitor and there should be a process called "yes" and on mine it uses 100% cpu and I can do 4 of these terminal commands in different windows to get all my cores at 100%. Works pretty good.
     
  11. lewis82 macrumors 68000

    lewis82

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
    #11
    You can also use Power Fractal, which can max out any CPU or even cluster of chips. And you get nice pictures as a bonus ;)
     

Share This Page