Info on nearby cell phone towers?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by frankpuccino, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. frankpuccino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #1
    I've been told that there is a way to list the nearby cell phone towers on a jailbroken iPhone from MobileTerminal.

    Could somebody tell me how this is done?

    Thanks!

    Frank
     
  2. dgstan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #2
    Search Cydia for "Signal". I think that's what you're looking for. Written by planetbeing.
     
  3. frankpuccino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    #3
    Thanks dgstan.
     
  4. gravytrain84 macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #4
    The app pulls up my location but does not display towers
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    Did you do a reboot after install ? You have to do a reboot.
     
  6. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #6
    It's kind of cool, but I wouldn't have paid for it if there was a trial.
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    Yea, but it is a way to financially reward planetbeing, a member of the DevTeam. That's why I bought it.
     
  8. MikePA macrumors 68020

    MikePA

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #8
    Ditto.
     
  9. Armeniandave macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #9
    I completely agree that this app, while being extremely cool, it's probably not totally necessary for most people. However it is a great way to say thank you to the dev team for their hard work and dedication in helping us liberate our phones from Apple's tight grips.
     
  10. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #10
    Will this mess with the tethering hack?
     
  11. bw1128 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  12. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    I'm using it and can still use MyWi. Is that what you were asking ?

    The app doesn't run all the time, just when you execute it.
     
  13. mgmusicman94 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #13
    It gives you a google map with locations of cell towers around you. It also gives you info about each cell.
     
  14. bw1128 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #14
    What does that do for you? Why do you need that info?
     
  15. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #15
    It wouldn't be needed by most of us, just an app to display signal strength of cell towers.
     
  16. macse30 macrumors regular

    macse30

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #16
    It's a geek thing. I bought it to support planetbeing.
     
  17. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #17
    I just purchased Signal, did a reboot, and all I am getting is my location with no towers showing. All the "dots" around the blue dot are black except for 1 which is red and had a 72-79 in it depending where I am in my house. No towers showing looking for miles around my location on the map zoomed out.

    I know there is a tower very close because I usually get full meter signal even in my basement. When I drive around all I see is the same circle following me on the map. Does this use a PREDEFINED database of cell towers or does it just pick up what is transmitting?

    Edit: FWIW, "Signal" is showing the following info:
    Cell ID - 40893
    Loc Area Code - 3998
    RX Power - -66dbm

    Is there a way to cross reference this to some sort of database somewhere?
    Is there SUPPORT for this app somewhere. I am happy to pay/donate the $5 but I would like it to work. :)




    [​IMG]
     
  18. cschmelz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #18
    It works best at mapping locations when you are moving.. Go for a drive, or a walk down the street...




     
  19. jayhawk11 macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #19
    I'm in the same boat as you. Every once in a while it will pick up a tower and give me a distance but those are few and far between.
     
  20. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #20
    I'll have to try walking up and down the steps 30 times. :)
     
  21. jayhawk11 macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #21
    This backgrounds, right? So open it up before you go out for the night and let it do it's thing ought to help some.
     
  22. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #22
    I drove all around this afternoon and all I got was my location on the map with the signal "ring" around it following me around.

    Actually it doesn't. At least not with native IOS4 backgrounding. I don't like to use Cydia backgrounder, it causes all kinds of problems on my phone.
     
  23. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #23
    I found this app to be more useful for the game it has, which allows you to see your 3G signal numerically (and to test the reception issue). However, SBSettings allows you to change the GSM signal from bars to numbers, so you don’t really need Signal for that purpose. The cell tower info wasn’t very useful and seems to usually not give me any info as to where these towers are. I also think it caused my battery to drain from the enablettydebug add-on to mobile substrate, so I deleted it.
     
  24. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #24
    So in other words, it really doesn't work? :eek: I
     
  25. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #25
    Works 100% for me, but as stated, it's not really anything you need unless you have an unlocked phone, with the choice of several cell providers.

    You can choose the one with best tower results.
     

Share This Page