Infrared Options?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by WinkWink726, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. WinkWink726 macrumors regular

    WinkWink726

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh Area, PA
    #1
    Hey... so, for the sake of preserving battery life, I just want to make sure that the IR is turned off.

    So how does one go about doing that?
     
  2. windels macrumors regular

    windels

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
  3. WinkWink726 thread starter macrumors regular

    WinkWink726

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh Area, PA
  4. hhlee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    #4
    cool, didn't know that it would save on battery life...
     
  5. Tinknock71 macrumors 6502

    Tinknock71

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Westland Michigan
    #5
    thanks for the tip, every time I use my remote for my Apple tv the dam Front Row starts on my macbook. thanks much!;)
     
  6. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #6
    this is probably going to save you like 2 seconds of battery life ;) a infrared receiver doesent take up power at almost all... :D And i don't think it gets powed off, it just doesent get adresessed by the OS anymore... so its not going to do you any good :D
     
  7. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #7
    you know that you can PAIR a remote witha mac so you can only use one remote for the mac and one for the :apple: TV?

    I am assuming you have two remotes...
     
  8. Tinknock71 macrumors 6502

    Tinknock71

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Westland Michigan
    #8
    I did not know that. Guess I will have to read up and do this! thanks for the info now I can put one remote away..:D
     
  9. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #9
    I am not sure how this is working on the :apple: TV , but on the Macbook its

    Preferences---> Security and then the last one "pair" :cool:
     

Share This Page