Infrequent DSLR user: How silly is my idea?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Abstract, Aug 7, 2010.

1. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

So I've been thinking about my DSLR, and feel a bit guilty about having it. I simply do not use it unless I'm on vacation.

I'm working in a new city and don't enjoy taking random city shots. However, I believe I'm a competent photographer, and this 'competency' is why I don't want to sell it. I don't know if I can go back to having a p&s only. :eek:

Currently, here is what I own:

- Nikon D300
    - Nikon 105 mm VR macro
    - Sigma 30 mm f1.4
    - Sigma 24-70 mm (non-HSM version, which is arguably better in terms of IQ if reviews are to be believed)
    - Tokina 12-24 mm f4.

Despite the camera's lack of usage, I'm actually very tempted to get a Sigma 50mm f1.4 right now. :rolleyes: I'm going on vacation next week.

My favourite lens was my 24-70mm until I got the Sigma 30 mm. Now I'm hooked on the relatively small size of my D300 with 30 mm attached. Plus, the lens is so fast!! Next is my 105 mm macro. It's a fantastic focal length for outdoor portrait shots. It's not small, but I think I now have a soft spot for primes. I don't really miss the zooming. :confused:

As a financially savvy individual, which of the following sounds the most sane:

1. Don't sell anything. Don't buy anything new for the camera.

2. Buy the Sigma 50mm f1.4 because it'll definitely become my 1st or 2nd favorite, and sell the Sigma 24-70mm and Tokina 12-24mm because they're infrequently used.

3. Buy the Sigma 50 mm f1.4, sell the Tokina. Do not sell the 24-70. Even if you don't use it often, it's invaluable when you need flexibility.

4. Buy the Sigma 50 mm, sell the Sigma 24-70mm. Keep the Tokina because it was never meant to be your primary lens anyway, and there are many instances where you'll want to shoot wider than 30 mm.