Initial Intel 'Nehalem' CPUs as cheap as chips

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by edesignuk, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    The Register.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Except no desktop Nehalem processor will be used in a Mac.

    Gainestown/Beckton for the Mac Pro, and mobile processors for the rest.
     
  3. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    poop, I shoulda thunk of that :eek: oh well, they will be iMac bound eventually.
     
  4. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Do you think that they'll change from mobile to desktop processors in the iMac? It'd give us some more power, but they'd need to be thicker, and I'm not seeing that happening while Jobs and Ive are around.
     
  6. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    Hell, who knows. Pricing being cheap for anything in the Nehalem line can only be good though.
     
  7. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    And it will probably require three-channel DDR3.

    Yes, now you need 3 modules of DDR3, which isn't cheap by any means.
     
  8. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #8
    what? i thought ram had to be in pairs? is this changing?
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    Yup. :cool:
     
  10. edesignuk thread starter Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    At first it won't be, but like anything it'll come down.

    I'll certainly be happy with my Octo 2.8 for a good few years yet. Wonder what Intel will be rocking around say, 2012?
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    They'll require you to install seventeen DDR6 modules at once. Each module will not come any smaller than two gigabytes.
     
  12. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    I would expect Gainestown to be priced similar to Harpertown when they first launched.
     
  13. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #13
    ha.
     
  14. hugodrax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #14
    And each module has a fan and require a power connection to the powersupply just like videocards.
     
  15. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    Nah, it will be liquid-cooled. Maybe even freon or liquid nitrogen. :p
     

Share This Page