Input Equalizer...?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by Melrose, Feb 7, 2017.

  1. Melrose Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #1
    In order to save myself some time tweaking in post production, I was wondering if there's an app out there that will allow basic EQ of the input?

    I don't care if there's a price tag since it's a business expense.

    Thanks!
     
  2. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #2
    Input of what? I know that if you're recording in Logic Pro X you can run your input through an EQ and anything else you want before it "prints". For that matter, you could record multiple versions with different effects at the same time.
     
  3. Melrose thread starter Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #3
    It's coming in from a Yeti - my voice needs some tweaks to bring things up below 200 and remove the Phone Voice around 1k or so.

    I said price was okay - apparently I missed the Logic Pro. $200 is a bit high, plus I'd only use bout 1% of the features.

    I was thinking there might be one of those small apps like SoundFlower. I played around with Apple's AULab but it's not quite what I'm after.
     
  4. apppen1 macrumors regular

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #4
    Maybe use a free DAW like Studio one 3 Prime that comes with an EQ built in. Is this what you are looking for?
     
  5. Melrose thread starter Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #5
    I've never seen that one - I'll check it out. Thanks for the suggestion!
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    When I asked "Input of what?" I meant the recording software. You're capturing the Yeti's "output".

    See if appen1's suggestion of "Studio One 3 Prime" will do what you need.
     
  7. Melrose thread starter Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #7
    Ahhhhhh I see. I'm relatively new to the technical side of this sort of thing, and assumed all ingoing audio was Input, all speaker/headphones are Output.
     
  8. apppen1 macrumors regular

    apppen1

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    #8
    I'm sure he meant his input source, a microphone in this case.
     
  9. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #9
    What is input or output depends on where you're standing, really.
     
  10. Melrose thread starter Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #10
    Input, output...now I'm just getting confused. :?

    To be technically accurate going forward, the Yeti is providing an audio input source to the computer, correct?

    Or is the Yeti considered by the Mac to be an output source that the computer records?
     
  11. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #11
    Ha! I didn't mean to confuse you.

    If you are using something like Studio One to record on your Mac your "input" on the channel would be the Yeti. It is a perspective thing.
     
  12. Melrose thread starter Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #12
    I'm used to the way things work in setting up music: Input is the line out of the guitar into the pedal, for example, output is the line into the speakers from the pedal.

    So I wasn't wrong it's just a matter of perspective. :)
     
  13. Jimmyss macrumors member

    Jimmyss

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2017
    #13
    You can try "EqualizerPro". It works perfectly on mac with iTunes. I am not sure will it work with iPhone or not. But you can try this one.
     

Share This Page