Input needed. Trying to convert VHS. Buy old Camcorder or ADVC110 or something else?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by looking4anotebo, Jul 15, 2007.

1. looking4anotebo macrumors 6502

I am brand new to video editing and I will soon be buying a new MBP. One thing I really want to do is take old VHS tapes, mainly past sporting events, and transfer them to a computer to then edit and burn onto dvd.

I have been researching and I think I know what I need, but I have two big concerns, cost and quality.

From what I understand, I can find an old dv camcorder on ebay that has the pass through function and use that to transfer the tapes, and I have also heard about the ADVC110.

What is the best option? Is the ADVC110 worth the extra $100-$150 for what I want to do or should I just go with the used camcorder?

Also, I understand firewire > USB but what about expresscard34?

2. greendj macrumors newbie

Convert VHS

Use a camcorder with AV to DV analog passthrough. Run from the VHS player out (white and red RCA out - sound) and (yellow RCA out - video) to the camcorder input and firewire out to the computer.

3. ppc_michael Guest

ppc_michael

The DV passthrough function would probably be good enough for home videos. The ADVC converter runs your video through filters to clean it up a bit, so whether or not that's worth the extra is up to you. :)

I'm pretty sure ExpressCard is faster than Firewire.

4. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

Mechcozmo

Go for the DV passthrough option. VHS quality is poor by digital standars anyway, and you can run filters on the video on your computer once you've imported the video.