Input/Output error message when uploading a dvd to copy.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by leeniedo, May 3, 2008.

  1. leeniedo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #1
    Hi All,

    I have been getting this message "Unable to Create: input/output error." when trying to upload a dvd to burn using Disk Utility. At first I thought it was a problem with the disc so I had a friend of my send me another copy. This was 2 discs. The first disc I get the error message the 2nd disc copied perfectly. My friend sent me the first disc again and I still get the same error message. It uploads about 2/3 of the disc and then the error message shows up. I tried on both my desktop and laptop and same error message on both. Both are using Leopard.
    This is not a copyright protected disc. This is a personal disc.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  2. leeniedo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #2
    I was hoping someone would have a reply to this. I was trying to get this taken care of as I need the dvd for this weekend. Does anyone know who I can contact to try to get an answer?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  3. vohad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  4. leeniedo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #4
    Hi,

    No, I was never able to get an answer to the problem. I have tried the disk several times since and still the same error message. Friends who have a pc were able to burn it with no problem.
     
  5. vohad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    I was able to fix my problem.
    my DVD had a corrupt part of a second in the end (didn't play it).
    I was able to burn it with HandBreak. The new DVD i made works with Disk Utility and i made a disk image and copied it once more.

    hope this helps
     
  6. leeniedo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #6
    Hi,

    Thanks for the info. I downloaded the program handbrake just not sure what to do from this point?
     
  7. vohad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    I got mixed up a little, I used LiquidCD to copy the DVD.
    I copied the DVD to desktop with copy/paste then with LiquidCD i chose in video DVD the folder and burn.
    I used handbreak to import the DVD to imovie
     

Share This Page