Input regarding future display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by pHeNom, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. pHeNom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX!
    #1
    Bought the new retina MBP and Im interested in purchasing a monitor my question is whether I should go with the 2 23 in side by side route or just one 27 in.

    if I go do the 2 23" monitor route is there anyway to link both monitors to work with one MBP without the TB option? help! :(
     
  2. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #2
    You can hook up two non-thunderbolt displays to the 15" retina MBP by using two mini-displayport adapters, or one mini-displayport adapter and one HDMI cable.

    I personally would prefer one 27" display to two 23" displays. If you get Apple's display it is also a dock and charger. You get Gigabit Ethernet, Firewire 800, and USB ports as well as the built in webcam all through the Thunderbolt cable.
     
  3. pHeNom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX!
    #3
    Where can I buy quality ones?
     
  4. Auzburner macrumors 65816

    Auzburner

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY - USA
    #4
    I'd be tempted to opt for the Apple one (27). In fact I am considering that right now... Between the ports and the great display, it's pretty nice.

    You may also want to consider this Dell display.

    It's the max resolution the latest MacBook Pro's can output, and is $200 more than the Apple display... Just a thought as I'm in the same boat atm.
     
  5. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #5
  6. pHeNom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX!
    #6
  7. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #7
    Yep, that should work fine. What's the resolution of that display? A 1080P display probably won't be very satisfying after using the built in display.
     
  8. pHeNom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX!
    #8
    yeah only 1080p. Ill just use it as a separate screen when using apps that arent retina display supported.
     
  9. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #9
    If it has an HDMI port you could just buy a simple HDMI cable rather than a displayport adapter.
     
  10. pHeNom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX!
    #10
  11. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #11
  12. edk99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    #12
    Yuck! 1920x1080 on a 27in monitor is terrible.

    If you want a 27" I would spend a little extra and at least get one that is 2560 x 1440 like this HP one
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824176242

    Otherwise here is a nice 24" Dell in the price range of the Asus that is 1920 x 1200 and IPS
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824260047&Tpk=U2412M

    Either of those will be way better the the TFT Asus panel
     
  13. pHeNom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX!
    #13
    wow those are nice. but not really looking to buy a monitor worth that much money, thatll ill only be using 2 hours a day.

    Thanks for the suggestion though. Highly appreciated! :)
     
  14. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #14
    I would go with the second one he linked (the Dell) over the Asus. They're the same price and the Dell has a bit more resolution and should be a higher quality panel (viewing angles, contrast, black levels).

    It has a Displayport input so that Displayport cable I linked a couple of posts above should work just fine.
     
  15. pHeNom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    Houston TX!
    #15
    Dell is 2 for 2! dell it is then! and i just looked it up on amazon and its even cheaper! (i always buy stuff on amazon cause im a prime member free 2 day shipping FTW!! :D

    btw regarding that cable you linked me one review said it doesnt work good or machine has to be turned off first before monitor or the monitor ends up getting an error? have you tried using that cable before?
     
  16. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #16
    No, I personally haven't used it. Might want to look around on Amazon in that case and read some reviews. Really any Mini-Displayport to Displayport cable should do the job.
     

Share This Page