Input Switching with AppleTV 4

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by DribbleCastle, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. DribbleCastle macrumors regular

    DribbleCastle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #1
    I know that the latest AppleTV will switch automatically via HDMI-CEC if your TV supports it. My question is can you easily switch BACK to other input sources via the new AppleTV remote?

    I'm interested in the new AppleTV but I don't want to be shuffling remotes all the time when I want to switch inputs. For example, when I want to go back to my cable box+xbox one on input 1. I have a 2013 Samsung TV. I know a universal remote be a solution but I'm not really interested in that. Hoping someone could provide some insight.
     
  2. mostlycharlie macrumors newbie

    mostlycharlie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #2
    Probably not, given how HDMI-CEC works. The other device would have to send a signal to your TV to switch inputs once it comes on. I really hate having multiple remotes, so I imagine I won't be using the Siri remote that often.
     
  3. DribbleCastle thread starter macrumors regular

    DribbleCastle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    Yeah, that's what I was thinking. Stupid Xbox One. Don't know why they couldn't add HDMI-CEC tech in or at least provide a voice command for switching inputs. I'm sure it's challenging to implement but it sure would be nice.
     
  4. DribbleCastle thread starter macrumors regular

    DribbleCastle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Now that I think about it. I'm guessing Xbox One didn't design easy input switching in for a couple of reasons.

    1. Its hard to do.
    2. They think this should be your ONE box. No reason to switch inputs especially if you use the cable box pass through to control your TV/Cable Box like I do.

    The Xbox One voice commands don't always work great but I think it would be a pain to go back to no voice commands at all. Even with Siri you have to have the remote in your hand to make Siri work.
     
  5. mostlycharlie macrumors newbie

    mostlycharlie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #5
    Wow, I thought the XB1 would at least support it. I just turn on my PS4 from my controller and it powers my TV and switches automatically, which is great because it takes my TV a while to fully come to life when you turn it on. It will switch to the PS4 input right when it powers up if the PS4 initiates it, but if I try to power it on manually and then try to switch inputs myself I have to wait for a minute or two.
     
  6. DribbleCastle thread starter macrumors regular

    DribbleCastle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    Cool. Yeah the Xbox One will power everything you on via voice or button. I just don't need to switch the inputs because it passes through my cable. I'm guess you don't have the new appletv yet? Would be interesting to know if when you used each controller if the devices would actually auto switch the input back and forth as expected. Sounds like they should with the PS4.
     
  7. mostlycharlie macrumors newbie

    mostlycharlie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #7
    While viewing the Apple TV input, if I turn my PS4 or PS3 on, it switches to them like a charm. And if I put the Apple TV to sleep, my TV switches back to whatever the previous input was.

    As I suspected, I don't think I'll be using the Siri remote much. I'll keep it in a drawer near the TV in case I have an app or game that needs it, but my TV remote is controlling it pretty well so far
     
  8. mostlycharlie macrumors newbie

    mostlycharlie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #8
    Oh, and this is the new Apple TV. It was waiting for me when I got home.
     
  9. DribbleCastle thread starter macrumors regular

    DribbleCastle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    Cool. Thanks for the feedback and enjoy the new AppleTV.
     
  10. zone23 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #10
    I just turned off ATV's ability to control my home theater. It turns everything on nicely but switching to say my TiVo after is just a pain. I will control my receiver and TV like I always have with my phone.
     
  11. Jamie0003 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #11
    This really sucks. I was hoping to just have the one remote for everything and do all my live and on demand tv, switching inputs etc just with the Siri remote.

    I have a question; I'm really glad volume control and turning my tv on/off works, as my TV is really old and doesn't support HDMI-cec, but when I press the TV button 3 times, it sends an input to my TV (led blinks) but nothing happens. Could this mean it's trying to switch inputs on a TV that doesn't support hdmi-cec? Is it possible Apple will update it in future to work with TV's that don't support this particular input it's sending? Hope that makes sense.
     

Share This Page