inquisitor question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by OrangeCuse44, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. OrangeCuse44 macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #1
    is there anyway to set safari to open a search result through inquisitor as a new tab instead of using the current tab?
     
  2. Xander562 macrumors 68000

    Xander562

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    #2
    Press [Cmd] + [T] before you start typing your query.

    or

    Press [Cmd] + [T] after you typed your query and select the result and press enter.

    So you're essentially opening a new tab, then typing in your search. Or searching in a new tab. I don't think there's a way that you can have it automatically open a new tab.
     
  3. OrangeCuse44 thread starter macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    You could also press cmd-enter instead of enter when you type in Inquisitor. This will open the search in a new background tab (will not automatically switch focus). Is that any better?

    If you find a plug-in that forces searches to new tabs, then Inquisitor might respect that, also, as another option.
     
  5. epochblue macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #5
    This is what I do. Works a peach, and is a surprisingly little-known feature of Safari. It works without Inquisitor installed as well.
     

Share This Page