Inserting Links in Posts

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by rdowns, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #1
    When you insert a link in a post on a Mac, the http:// is highlighted so when you paste the link in, the http:// is overwritten.

    On Windows, the http:// does not get highlighted so when you paste the link, you often get http:// twice. Can you make it behave the same as on a Mac?
     
  2. RobertD63 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    A place
    #2
    I think thats a browser and OS thing. You might be able to do something in the products and plugins with PHP and XML maybe AJAX for that to detect the windows OS/browser. Thats the tricky part. Then the easy thing is to code the highlight field.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    Yeah, it seems to be a browser problem to me too -- in particular I noticed this problem on Firefox 3, on Linux also....
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    would probably be easier to get it to not have the 'http://' to show up at all in any environment?
     
  5. RobertD63 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    A place

Share This Page