Install Airport Extreme on Mac Pro Nehalem : slot not found

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cooki, Oct 3, 2010.

  1. Cooki macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris France
    #1
    Hi,
    I'd like to install one Airport Extrem Card in my Mac Pro Nehalem 2009, and I
    visited the following links to learn how to do:
    http://guides.macrumors.com/Adding_Bluetooth_and_Wireless_to_a_Mac_Pro

    http://meanderingpassage.com/2007/0...-an-airport-extreme-card-in-an-intel-mac-pro/

    They are very interesting, very good work.
    I open my Mac pro as advise these 2 links but I did'nt see the slot for Airport Extreme, I did'nt find any Antenna cables to attach to the Airport Extrem card.

    Please help me
    Best regards
    Cooki
     
  2. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    That's because those instructions are for pre-2009 Mac Pros.

    In 2009+ Mac Pros the Airport Express slot was moved lower on the backplane - specifically it's in the area behind the CPU.

    To be illustrative, it's in the lower left quadrant of this image:
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Cooki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris France
    #3
    Hy Vylen
    Thank you so much. It is exactly the photo of inside of my Mac Pro, but the Slot is hidden. Please advise me : How to reach that slot? How to install the card ? Must I disassembly something ? how I must do for not causing damage ?
    Thank you again
    Cooki
     
  4. Cooki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris France
    #4
    The location of Airpot Extrem Card cables

    Hi Vylen
    It's Cooki again, one more question : Where is the location of the cables of Airpot Extrem. I don't see them.
    Thanh you again
    Cooki
     
  5. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You have to take out the CPU tray to reach the Airport slot. Please refer to your handbook (came with your computer) on how to take out the CPU tray.

    The cables are already in place. Just pop in the Airport card and connect the cables.

    Edit: Check out this thread for high res. images of the installed Airport card: Hit me!
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    That's the wrong guide. The inards were redesigned, so the location of the card has also been moved.

    They are in the left space when you remove the processor tray. Cables are included. You might find there are 3 antenna cables. The Broadcom card uses 2 cables while the Atheros card uses 3 cables. So if you buy the former just use 2 and use 3 for the latter. The official Apple card is a Broadcom card.

    Good luck.
     
  7. Cooki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris France
    #7
    Hi Vylen,
    Success ! I remove the CPU tray and I see everything there. Thank you so much. Owing to you I am so happy!
    I bought my card from Apple Store in Paris, Ref MB988ZM/A, so I think that is the Broadcom as you told me, there are only 2 plugs. I see 3 cables "1" "2" and "3". If I use only 2 cables, so which one ? How to connect to the right plug ?
    Best regards
    Cooki
     
  8. Cooki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris France
    #8
    Thank you very much Alphaod for your precision. I have just asked Vylen how to choose the right plugs. My card, you are right, is surely a Broadcom card because it has just 2 plugs. Could you advise me ?
    Best regards
    Cooki
     
  9. Cooki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris France
    #9
    Thank you very much Transporteur, I remove the CPU tray and everything is there. Now, about plugs, after your link, I choose 2 and 3 ?
    Best regards
    Cooki
     
  10. fairbanx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    hm, choose 1 and 3. in the service manual (mac pro 2009) it says: "Enclosure includes 3 AirPort antenna wires and 1 Bluetooth antenna wire. Wires look similar, except Bluetooth wire includes “BT” label. For proper operation, do not connect Bluetooth antenna wire to AirPort card or any AirPort wire to Bluetooth card.…Connect AirPort antenna wires labeled #1 and #3 to AirPort card. (You may connect either of these wires to either AirPort connector.) The third wire, #2, is not used for this AirPort card." hope, that helps!
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    I have not seen a different between each combination of cables; right now I'm using #1 & #3 like fairbanx has stated.
     
  12. Cooki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris France
    #12
    Thank you very much Fairbanx, I'll connect as you and Alphaod did and I'll inform you next week
    Best regards
    Cooki
     
  13. Cooki thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Paris France
    #13
    install the Airport Extrem card in Mac Pro Nehalem

    Hello all,
    I have just installed the Airport Extrem card in my Mac Pro Nehalem : success.
    Thank you very much for your help.
    Some recommandations for people who desire to do the same thing :
    Put the Mac on the side that the slot allows the card to be on the vertical position once installed in the slot.
    Install :
    Don't try to force immediatly the card to be on the vertcal position :
    1/ Introduce the card in the slot in bending the card about 10° toward you. (Like to install the memorie)
    2/ Once the card is confortable inside the slot in that 10° position, push it to 90° (vertical) position and tighten it with 2 screws.
    3/ Connect 2 antenna cables 1 and 3 to the card. (Cable 2 remains free)
    Best regards
    Cooki
     
  14. getz76 macrumors 6502a

    getz76

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hell, AL
    #14
    I just did this on my 4,1 because Airdrop is actually useful in our workflow. I am guessing that some others will be doing the same.

    Just to confirm, the instructions above are exactly correct.

    I was able to get the Airport card from B&H.
     
  15. paulvee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    success!

    Found a compatible Broadcom card on ebay for 16 bucks.

    Just opened my 2.93 Quadcore early 2009 Nehalem machine, put it on its side, pulled the two hard drives on the left side - my airport card was accessible after that with careful maneuvering.

    Installed it and it works!
     

Share This Page