install cydia

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by orbit, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. orbit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    #1
    Hi there,
    I just jailbroke my iphone 4 with greenpois0n but I can not install cydia with loader. I have found heaps of articles on the internet saying that you can just install it with redsn0w, however I dont have a sufficient internet connection to download the ipsw file needed to use redsn0w for my iphone.

    Is there any other ways to get cydia to install?

    Thanks,
     
  2. svenn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #2
    If you don't have cydia, I don't think your phone is jailbroken. Try again
     
  3. orbit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    #3
    it is definitely jailbroken... greenpois0n installs an app called loader which then is ment to download and install cydia. Except the loader app is not working, and I think that it is due to the greenpois0n site being down so cydia can not be downloaded and installed
     
  4. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #4
    You've obviously never run Greenpois0n. The OP is correct.

    Try SSHing from Terminal into the iPhone then: apt-get install cydia

    ... on second thought, I don't think you can SSH into your phone yet. Boo.
     
  5. orbit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    #5
    I thought you had to enable something in cydia before you could ssh into an iphone?
     
  6. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #6
    OpenSSH that's correct. I don't know what I was thinking (honestly they ought to make it install when you jailbreak but I digress).

    You pretty much have to use redsn0w or wait till loader will download Cydia. Will it not even start downloading now?

    If you've got a notebook you could always go to Panera or some place with free wifi and download the ipsw.
     
  7. orbit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    #7
    heh so i cant ssh into the iphone then. Yip have tried to use loader about 5 times now since my first post and still no luck. Loader just says "loading sources" for about 2 mins and then says i need an internet connection.... but I have a working wifi connection and all other apps work with the wifi
     
  8. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #8
    I'd probably just let the ipsw download overnight if your connection is that slow. Even on my 1.5mbps DSL it would only take me an hour at most.
     
  9. orbit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    #9
    its not the speed that is the problem, it is the fact that I am at my parent house for the next few days and they have a 5 download cap for the month. So they wont be to happy if i use up ~ 1gig just like that
     
  10. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #10
    Ahhh, yeah then find free wifi and bum off them. lol!
     
  11. orbit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    #11
    SOLVED: just had a thought, and tried to install cydia over 3G instead of Wifi and it worked.
    Strange.
     
  12. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #12
    Glad it worked. Odd that.
     

Share This Page