Install disc for SL question.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by macnfab, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. macnfab macrumors regular

    macnfab

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Location:
    NorthEast IN
    #1
    I have 2 macbook's for different reasons and plans to add an iMac in the future. Since both are registered to me I am running the same Leopard disc on both can I buy a signal user in Snow Leopard? Will it work the same as Leopard in this regard? So that I may install it on both macs?

    Thanks:apple:
     
  2. PhightinPhils26 macrumors 6502a

    PhightinPhils26

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Philly
    #2
    How do I say this correctly... In theory, it will work! ;)
     
  3. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #3
    It will work but it is against the EULA. Be honest and buy two copies.
     
  4. iFanboy Guest

    #4
    Think of it this way.

    Apple needs another $25 like I need a Gold Plated Rocket Car.

    However, the reason why you would be able to do this is because Apple is able to rely on it's customers rather than employ DRM restrictions. If you and others stop being so reliable you make it more likely that DRM will be in future versions of Mac OS.

    Therefore, buy another copy for $25, as you're only hurting yourself and all of us in the long run.
     
  5. david803sc macrumors member

    david803sc

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Wylie, SC
    #5
    Since the upgrade disk is really a full version just buy two of those, I went to Best Buy to get a family pack for my two macs and I found out Best Buy does not sell the Family Pack so I bought two upgrade disk which was only $10.00 more than the Family Pack anyway both my macs are fairly new and were both running their own copies of Leopard.

    I tried the upgrade on both and had many problems, so i wound up doing them both as new fresh installs using the "Upgrade" disks, I think Apple knew people would have problems and that is why the upgrade disk is the same as the full disk.

    David
     
  6. macnfab thread starter macrumors regular

    macnfab

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Location:
    NorthEast IN
    #6
    wow! I guess I didn't know it was illegal as both are registered to me... and i am the "single user" sorry thanks for the info!
     

Share This Page