Install El Capitan on MacBook Aluminium Late 2008

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Wolwerine, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. Wolwerine macrumors regular

    Wolwerine

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #1
    Hy, CyberMacLovers,,
    I got a new Mac,,so i would like to now if there's some specific things to do to get El Capitan installed, or, should i install as a regular OS?
    Thanks in advance,,
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Congratulations you have got a new Mac.

    And after checking your basic configuration, I think you should be cautious on installing el capitan, although overall feedback is somewhat positive.

    For el capitan installation, there are two obvious ways to do it.
    1. Through Apple developer portal to download installation app to install.
    2. Through Apple public beta page to install.

    I use first method because I can receive updates more frequently.

    Regards.
     
  3. Wolwerine thread starter macrumors regular

    Wolwerine

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #3
    Thank you,,,,in fact i've get already El Capitan from Apple Developers,,gonna do it, now,,
    I'll feedback,,
     
  4. Erdbeertorte, Jul 19, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2015

    Erdbeertorte macrumors demi-goddess

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #4
    It did not work on my MacBook White early 2008, I could install it, but it permanently crashed. The older MacBooks do not support newer Versions than 10.7.5 instead of the MacBook Pros (it runs even on 2007 models). On my Mac Book White 2010 it works fine. Late 2008 might work, it supports Yosemite.
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    Go ahead, even as a beta it'll be faster than Yosemite on your older Mac. At least it is on my late 2008 MacBook Air.
     
  6. Wolwerine thread starter macrumors regular

    Wolwerine

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #6
    well,
    I've done it, i got El Capitan 10.11,,running on
    - MacBook 13" Aluminium ( Late 2008 )
    - Intel Duo 2 Core 2GHz 4G RAM 1066MHZ DDR3
    - Graphics NVidia GeForce 9400M 256MB
    Just great,, got to upgrade to 8G of RAM,,
    cheers,, Screen Shot 2015-07-20 at 21.24.01.png
     
  7. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #7
    An SSD will also give you a nice boost. El Capitan runs nicely on my 2008 MacBook as well, I actually really enjoy the Mac again. Are you using an external display?
     
  8. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #8
    Envy you guys with the ability to upgrade memory and hard drive. :(
     
  9. SG- macrumors regular

    SG-

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #9
    they probably envy your 6-9 hour battery :p
     
  10. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #10
    ^ this

    My late 2009 17" MacBook Pro, while I'm able to upgrade hard drives and ram the battery is not so great. 4, maaaaybe 5 hours of just web browsing is it. I can't wait for the day I can afford to upgrade to a brand new one.
     
  11. scrmtrey macrumors regular

    scrmtrey

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    #11
    Upgradeable is superior to just more battery life. (upgrade is always a nice (if not best) thing) :)
     
  12. eldudorinio macrumors member

    eldudorinio

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    #12
    There are all sorts of upgrade guides all over the internet. I tend to follow guides from these guys.
     
  13. Wolwerine thread starter macrumors regular

    Wolwerine

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #13
    yes, in fact i got some issue with my display, nothing is broken, but, want light on,,black really Black, backlight, is out of question, i've check, but connecting external display, mine is 22", with Mini VGA port no problems,, need to now how to solve this,,
     
  14. Wolwerine thread starter macrumors regular

    Wolwerine

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #14
    now i need to upgrade my RAM to 8G,, then is gonna be fast,,for now is not bad, for a 2008 MacBook,, View attachment 602724
     

    Attached Files:

  15. MacBoyWannabe macrumors newbie

    MacBoyWannabe

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    #15
    don't actually own a mac yet, but I'm going to be getting one soon, specifically the late '08 aluminum unibody model, I would like to install el capitan, is there any special things I have to do or can I do a straight upgrade? could I push and possibly use sierra?
     

Share This Page