Install Failed - First Aid failed - Help needed

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by star555, Oct 12, 2008.

1. star555 macrumors regular

Ive been trying to download the latest security update ( 2008 - 007 ) and after the download is complete I keep getting a warning

Installation had errors ...

Install Failed

The installer could not install some files in ''/''.
    contact the software manufacture for assistance

I tried to download the security update several times and still got the same warning.

Next I tried to ''Repair Disk Permissions '' , and got this warning......

First Aid failed - Disk Utility stopped verifying permissions on '' Macintosh HD
    because the following error was encountered ......

The underlying task reported failure on exit

Then I tried to '' Verify Disk Permissions '' and that came up ......

The volume Macintosh HD appears to be ok

As I am still learning , I am not too sure what to do next , or if the above problems are related in some way ..?

Any advice would be most appreciated :(

Attached Files:

2. JediMeister macrumors 68040

I would recommend booting up to the restore disc 1 that came with the computer and run Disk Utility from there to verify/repair the disk. If that is unsuccessful in fixing the permissions error you might have to archive and install preserving settings to fix the issue.

3. star555 thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the advice, just going to try that now, and will report on how it goes

4. star555 thread starter macrumors regular

Well Ive tried out using the Disk Utility from the install DVD, and this is the results..

Repair Disk = The volume macintosh HD appears to be ok

Repair Disk Permissions = Error the underlying task reported failure on exit

Verify Disk Permissions = Error the underlying task reported failure on exit

Verify Disk = The volume macintosh HD appears to be ok

note .. Apart from the above .....The iMac seem's to be working ok ?