Install g77 compiler on Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by inanoifish, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. inanoifish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #1
    Hi everyone, I´m desperate because I´m new on Mac (Leopard) and I need to run some programs which are written in f77.
    How do I get a g77 compiler? What are the install steps?

    I will appreciate someone to explain it, please!
    Thank you!

    Art.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
  3. inanoifish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #3
    Yeah, thanks. I already did that and didn´t succeeded... I need some step by step instructions.

    Thanks!
     
  4. lloyddean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Des Moines, WA
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    The instructions are right there... Need I highlight them for you?

    Mac users will need to make sure /usr/local/bin is in their $PATH variable. This can be done by adding a line to your (hidden) .bash_profile file (or creating it if it doesn't exist) that looks like the following:
    Code:
    export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/bin:/usr/local/sbin
    Though my system doesn't have anything in /usr/local/sbin, it can't hurt to add it to the path just in case something else uses it.
     
  6. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #6
    Just out of curiosity:
    Do you have some Fortran 77 code that doesn't adhere to Fortran 90+? If so, maybe it's worth converting it so you can use a newer compiler with more advanced features. If you do go this direction, you can get g95 OS X binaries.

    -Lee
     
  7. inanoifish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #7
    Apparently the problem is solved, thank you!
    By the way where can I get gnuplot and how do I install it?

    Art.
     
  8. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    Fink
     
  9. inanoifish thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #9
    Thank you, everything seems to be working fine until gnuplot calls aqua to plot the graph. Aqua opens but doesn´t plot anything.

    If I write:

    $ gnuplot
    gnuplot> set term x11

    I do get the graph. Something´s wrong with aqua...

    Art
     

Share This Page