Install GTX550 Ti in MacPro 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Fxguy, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. Fxguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #1
    I'm trying to install a GTX550 Ti card to replace my old GeForce 7300 GT. Anyone know if it is possible? Under System Profiler it lists the following information:

    Display:

    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x1244
    Revision ID: 0x00a1
    Displays:
    Display Connector:

    So it looks like it recognizes that a card is in the slot, but not which card. Any help?
     
  2. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #2
    You should check the FAQ thread for more details. What OS are you running?
     
  3. Fxguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #3
    I'm running OS 10.6.8 at the moment.

    I know I need to update, but Mountain Lion will not run, I tried to update via the app store and told me it is not compatible with this computer.
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Try Lion.

    Will work with 10.7.5 and Nvidia drivers.

    I can write an EFI for it but would require a Mac Pro 3,1 or later.
     
  5. Fxguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    #5
    Thanks everyone for the replies. Its a work in progress.... I upgraded to Lion and the card now works. A few glitches when trying screen sharing and when I turned on overscan, but better quality over all.

    Now my problem is that I had to use the two power ports from the optical drive bay to feed the new video card. How do I get more ports so I can put my optical drives back?

    Thanks!
     
  6. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #6
    You'll want to update to the new 295.00.05f03 driver as well. There should be small power connectors on your motherboard, which use the low-profile 6-pin power cables that are specific to the Mac Pro. Details in the FAQ thread, including links on where you can buy the cables.
     

Share This Page