Install latest AMD GPU drivers for Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by AnTaR3s, Jan 4, 2016.

  1. AnTaR3s macrumors regular

    AnTaR3s

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #1
    Hey there!

    I have been a happy Mac user for 7 years now, but I still have to fall back to Windows10/Bootcamp for gaming. Recently I upgraded to the late 2015 riMac from (from my 2012 imac), which meant going from nVidia to AMD. After about two months of using the machine I must say that I am very happy with the exception of the GPU. Long story short: I will never ever buy AMD stuff again. That said, I was wondering if anyone managed to manually install the latest GPU drivers from AMD directly instead of waiting months and months for Apple to update the GPU drivers.

    I found these instructions
    http://www.remkoweijnen.nl/blog/2015/09/21/update-amd-display-driver-under-bootcamp/
    but I am not sure if I can trust them. Has anyone experience with updating the AMD drivers manually for their machines?

    thanks a lot! :)
     
  2. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #2
    I may do what that blog suggests, but the comments section seems to support that it is a legit work around, lots of success stories
     
  3. AnTaR3s thread starter macrumors regular

    AnTaR3s

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #3
    Hey jenzjen. Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately there is a post (December 20th) which states this does not work with the m395x (thats the one I have). Might try it anyway if Apple delays driver updates any longer...how hard can it be to sign the latest drivers when such a simple workaround as in this post works for most users...
     
  4. HumpYourWayUp macrumors regular

    HumpYourWayUp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #4
    Does anyone know if Apple finally released a driver update for the m390x?
     
  5. AnTaR3s thread starter macrumors regular

    AnTaR3s

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
  6. HumpYourWayUp macrumors regular

    HumpYourWayUp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
    #6
    That is true. But it is Apple's fault. They should have used the NVIDIA 980M/960M for the 15" inch pro laptops not a three year old AMD GPU.
    Lately Apple feels really cheap :-(
     
  7. AnTaR3s thread starter macrumors regular

    AnTaR3s

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #7
  8. HumpYourWayUp macrumors regular

    HumpYourWayUp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
  9. AnTaR3s thread starter macrumors regular

    AnTaR3s

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #9
    I think it is a great solution. So far I have always had the need for a powerful Desktop machine (for the GPU) and also a powerful mobile machine. I never switched completely to the MacBook line since the support of 4k/5k is still limited (but apparently the latest revisions of the MacBooks handle them quite well) and the GPUs are always crap. I am really looking forward to the day where I only have one computer and a base station at home which enhances its capabilities.
     
  10. HumpYourWayUp macrumors regular

    HumpYourWayUp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Europe
  11. ghislain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #11
    Yes it works. In fact, you can avoid steps 4 and 5 by restarting windows with signature driver check inactivated (restart windows whilepressing shift key). In such conditions, AMD drivers and CCC intall without any problem...
     
  12. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #12
    Are these updates even worth the effort? From what I can see they include a brightness fix. I haven't experienced any issue with brightness. Should I still update?

    edit:
    I see on the AMD site that there are plenty of fixes for various games. Still for a non gamer?
     
  13. AnTaR3s thread starter macrumors regular

    AnTaR3s

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna
    #13
    For me it would also mostly be about the games. For example Elite: Dangerous is almost unplayable with the version Apple provides.
    Also, I have heard there are some problems with Oculus Rift in Bootcamp and AMD machines, but that will only affect very few people, I guess...
     

Share This Page